A Small Artwork Serie From 2006

This is one of my small artwork serie from 2006. I handled rhythm, identity behavior and time in this serie.

Actually, this idea is not totally mine. I was inspired by an image that I saw on somewhere. Now I can't remember why I impressed by this image. I think I can count this as part of my artistic pursuit. Later I learned that this idea was first pictured as a god called "Janus" in ancient Rome.

About Janus:
"In ancient Roman religion and myth, Janus (/ˈdʒeɪnəs/ JAY-nəs; Latin: IANVS (Iānus), pronounced [ˈjaːnʊs]) is the god of beginnings, gates, transitions, time, duality, doorways, passages, and endings. He is usually depicted as having two faces, since he looks to the future and to the past. It is conventionally thought that the month of January is named for Janus (Ianuarius), but according to ancient Roman farmers' almanacs Juno was the tutelary deity of the month."
Source

Over time, I diversified this idea into a small artwork serie in 2006. I put this idea in a new form and meaning by myself. The first piece from this serie that i made is the below black one.

As you can see I processed this idea from different materials like polyester resin, aluminium and stone. I added from born to death transformation fragments into this idea. I used it as a squeezing and expanding wave frequency in the aluminum piece at the beginning of the post.

I think we are just flowing in physical time dimension. Maybe you know this feeling and you have understood what I tried to meant.

Thank you for your interest

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center