My 12 Week Burlesque Challenge: From Idea to Stage Ready Performance!

Hey Hive folks! Over the past 12 weeks, I’ve been on an exciting journey to create a burlesque act after over a year away from the scene. I've taken on everything from choreography and costume design to music editing and promo shoots. And now, the moment is almost here! Later this week, I’ll be filming the final performance to start applying for castings in shows. But before I get into the final steps, let’s rewind and break down the challenge!

Step 1: Act Development and Inspiration
When I decided to take on this challenge, the first step was coming up with a concept for my act. Burlesque is all about storytelling through sensuality, humor, and glamour, so I wanted my performance to reflect a blend of those elements. I spent the first few days brainstorming ideas, watching countless classic and neo-burlesque performances on YouTube, and diving into the history of the art form. The inspiration for my act? Think Baroque with a dark twist! I wanted something bold, sultry, and empowering—an act that could capture an audience from the first strut.

IMG_9870.jpeg

Step 2: Music Editing on Audacity.
With my theme in mind, the next step was finding the perfect soundtrack. Music sets the entire tone of a burlesque act, so I spent a lot of time selecting tracks that aligned with the mood I wanted to create. Once I found the right mix of Baroque instrumentals and dark powerful rhythms, I turned to Audacity for editing. If you haven’t used Audacity, it's a free audio editing software that’s pretty user-friendly once you get the hang of it. I trimmed, spliced, and layered the tracks to blend them seamlessly together to create the perfect custom soundtrack for my act.

IMG_9729.jpeg

Step 3: Costume Creation.
Ah, costumes—the true heartbeat of burlesque! For this part of the challenge, I dove deep into the world of DIY burlesque fashion. My costume needed to be over the top, glamorous and somewhat functional, with enough reveal moments for that classic tease. I sourced materials like fabric, rhinestones, and corsets, handcrafting pieces that would bring my character to life on stage.
So many hours were spend on beading and embellishing, but the start of the show, the vibrant pink Baroque style dress, took me less than 1 day to make!

Step 4: Wig styling. After much deliberation I opted to purchase a ready made Baroque bouffant wig, which I added colourful hair pieces to, to make it my own.

IMG_9728.jpeg

Step 5: Choreographing the Routine
With the music and costume ready, it was time to piece together the choreography. I wanted my routine to flow smoothly, with a mix of sultry slow movements and faster, more playful sections. Burlesque is all about control and timing, so I spent hours practicing my facial expressions, perfecting my walk, and working on those signature costume peels and fan dances.

I choreographed my routine around the music. I always begin with deciding where an item of costume is going to be removed and the choreograph around those pivotal moments, ensuring that every beat had a corresponding movement that built up the tension and excitement.

IMG_9612.jpeg

Step 6: Promotional Photoshoot.
Self promotion is hugely important in burlesque. Having great images to send to producers as well as to advertise yourself on social media and on show posters, is an absolute must! I worked will fellow photographer Phil Young, which just made life that little bit easier as I usually photograph myself.

Step 7: Rehearse! Practice makes perfect and it makes you more aware of any moment in your act where there is potential for something to go wrong. For example struggle to undo a corset, catching a hook of a belt on your costume... the list is endless. But the more you practice, the more goes wrong off stage, the more you're aware of it and are able to fix it!
In rehearsals you're able to fine tune and polish up your act, and ensure you're giving good face throughout your act.

Step 8: Filming the Final Performance
This week is the big one! All my hard work comes together as I film the final version of my burlesque act. I’ll be shooting a high-quality video that I can use to apply for castings, with a focus on capturing the magic and energy of my performance. From the seductive choreography to the dazzling costume reveals, I’m so excited to see how it all turns out on camera.

What’s Next?
After filming, the next step is to start submitting my act to producers and casting agents. I’ll be using the video and promo shots to show off my act and (hopefully) land a spot in some upcoming shows. This 12-week challenge has been such an amazing journey—from concept to creation—and I can’t wait to see where it takes me next.

If you're curious to see the final performance or interested in the behind-the-scenes process, make sure to subscribe to my YouTube channel (link below). I'll be posting the final video soon.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-nBROeo5zzpD4B8BSKlyEQ

Thank you so much for following along, and here’s to bringing a little more burlesque magic to the world!

Stay glamorous, Betty x

IMG_9611.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now