BEASTLY TALES - THE HERMIT

Welcome to Beastly Tales. Each has a message, a moral. All are meant to have an element of humour. Naturally, any names included do not depict real folk but are included as part of the joke.

All rights reserved.
(As with Beastly Banter Beastly Tales is written and illustrated by Richard Hersel.)

Thank you for your following.
Richard Hersel


BEASTLY TALES

THE HERMIT


I live in a most simple way,
My hut is built from straw bale hay.
I don’t have electricity,
I boil stream water for a cup of tea.
In fact the stream is my washroom too,
For me, my clothes, plus my morning brew.
I live alone, as you can see,
Far away from humanity.
And, if you will note please,
I’m also avoiding contagious disease.
My little hut is foliage covered,
In creepers and ferns it is smothered
There’s neither radio nor T.V.
No internet or computer you see.
And, most important of all,
No telephone for receiving any call.
People think I’m a crazy old coot,
But for me, things are just beaut!
I even made myself Dandelion wine,
So at cocktail hour all is just fine!
I grow my veggies and make my bread,
So about going shopping nothing is said.
No greedy banks, no bills to pay,
Nothing like that to cloud my day.
And if I need coffee, or perhaps tea,
I trade my veggies most successfully.
Now you may think that lonely I may be,
But that is just not so, you see,
For I live with my animal friends,
And I will always, always go to no ends,
To care for them in every way,
They help enormously to make my day.
I have a dog and a small cat,
They are healthy, neither thin nor fat.
I have some goats just for milk,
I have a pet pig whose ears are like silk,
And, of course, there’s wild life too,
In fact, I have my very own zoo!


I had a problem with some snivelling louts,
Who’d ride trail bikes with screeching shouts,
Alarming wildlife, and myself too,
But I gave thought and came up with a clue.
A trap I made with a springy sapling,
And a series of ropes ready for grappling.
So when they’d ride deliberately loud,
In a tight bunch, an odious crowd,
The trap went off near a sludgy swamp,
Diverting the bunch from their raucous romp,
Into the very muddy, slushy slime,
Oh what a feeling most sublime!

hermit.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center