shape, color and repetition

Today I would like to show you my process of today. Normally I don't show a lot of the act of creation. What I normally share is a work of art that stands on it self.

For me, the process is different every day. I think that's healthy because that makes me flexible in the choices that I make. My process today has clear steps and that is why I think it is fun for you to look behind the scenes.
the starting point was the shape of an eye, color explosion and repetition. I was curious if I could give it a quirky twist.

This is my start, I do recognise it as something that's typical voor me to create. I like the black lines with bright colors. I like it when you can see the brushstrokes.

2.png

I decided to experiment and made the same shape without the plack lines. Because the contrast was gone I played with the colors mixing. I also wanted to make thes brushstrokes more obvious

3.png

At this point I did'nt like it much. It seemed a bit emty. But I still had the idea of repetition (I was so busy with the colors I forgot) So I started the repetition of the same shape.

4.jpg

This was totally not what I expected it would be. There are parts I like, there are parts that doesn't do anything for me and there are parts I totally dislike about it. Standing out for me was how flat it looked. I decided to bring black back in but then like a shadow so the shape got some depth.

5.jpg

In this picture you also see that I have changed the direction of the shape. Together with the 3d effect, the whole thing is much more dynamic.

For now I am done with this, my head is full and working more on it feels boring. Another time I will take another look and probably see something completely different.

To unwind and have fun I made this.

1.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center