Glacier Wildflower

Hey Guys! I'm back with another post showing you a little bit of how I do things. This is also another piece inspired by my trip to Glacier National Park.

GlacierFlower5.jpg

Materials Used:

  • 4H pencil
  • Watercolor paints
  • Liquitex Acrylic Ink in Yellow Orange Azo
  • Speedball Acrylic Ink in Black
  • Size 1 Detailer Brush
  • Size 4 Round Brush
  • Speedball brand dip pen
  • 4" x 6" (10.2 x 15.2 cm) Strathmore Watercolor paper

I started with just a light pencil sketch and started applying watercolor. I diluted the color quite a bit and slowly built up the intensity of the color in layers.

GlacierFlower1.jpg

A little note about the paper. Strathmore makes these very fun watercolor postcards. The front is left blank for you to fill with your artwork and the back has what your typical postcard would, a place to put your stamp, and some lines for you to write your message. I got these at the newly opened Hobby Lobby where I live for the very affordable price of $5.99.

GlacierFlower2.jpgGlacierFlower3.jpg

After I felt satisfied with the watercolor I grabbed my dip pen and decided to do a fun background with the yellow ink. I did this kind of on a whim and ended up loving it. When I had that filled up I added the black ink details on the flower and outlined the border.

GlacierFlower4.jpgGlacierFlower5.jpg

I've done a couple of these watercolor postcards so far and they are a ton of fun. And I really love how this piece turned out. Alright, that's all for now! Take care guys!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center