A CHARCOAL SKETCH ✏️ 👨🏻‍🎨 - And Musings🌻

You may skip directly to the sketch if you want to. I'm going to ramble on about life for a while, as always :)

Hi. It's been a long time since I posted, mainly due to exams.

Ah. Exams.

I have a love-hate relationship with exams. Let me explain. It's as if I face apprehension and stage fright only during the practice sessions before the final performance; but on the big day, I have no stage fright whatsoever and I just totally enjoy the process of delivering the performance. A bit weird, isn't it?

When you exert yourself a little extra to achieve a little extra, it makes you feel happy. Sometimes you run that extra mile, do that extra rep, or get that extra lap done. The feeling of satisfaction you get when you do this - knowing that you broke your limits and gave your 101% - is almost euphoric. Maybe this is why I like the pain that I feel while putting in that little extra bit of effort.

Working out has done wonders to my mood in the past. I have realized that when I go to the gym regularly, I always feel confident and energized. And so I have rejoined the gym. Sometimes, the very first step towards your goal - getting off the bed and going to the gym - feels like a drag. But once you take that first simple step, it gives you a momentum, and the rest always follows.

Anyway, here's a quick charcoal sketch that I made, I hope you like it!

THE SKETCH-

I used willow charcoal here, along with a few strokes of compressed charcoal here and there. I was trying to work as loose as possible, and was trying to incorporate the technique of scribbling, that's why all those squiggly lines. But I think I made the hair too straight, which contrasts with the randomness and emotion of the rest of the drawing.

fullsizeoutput_2e3.jpeg

One of my friends thinks it looks scary. Does it really? I on the other hand, think it has a serene and silent air about it. I see secrets, sadness, serenity and hope when I look at it, but definitely not fear.

So long,
Ashutosh.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now