3D GIRL - A great learning project for me.

Hello everyone!! How are you doing fellas. Today I am gonna share a 3d character that I created more than 5 years ago. I wanted to create a stylized female character.

Thumbnail

girl-thumb.jpg

Its still difficult for me to draw / model females. One mistake and the start to look like a male. I had to change her face and hands so many times because of that. I was really hard for me to make those arms look like they belong to a female.

So much frustration but I learned so much things. I then discontinued 3d due to my job. The hair and fur stuff was so complex for me so I created temporary hair geometry in a hope that I will learn hair styling and give her a nice hair style.

2.jpg

The material ids blending was causing problems so I had to render two images (for skin and lips) separately and masked them in Photoshop


Front View

front-1.jpg

I had 'spider-girl' concept in my mind and actually completed this including texture but after sometime I realized that it was full of errors so I decided to rectify the errors and started working on it again.

I changed her face countless times, remodeled the hands and legs and throughout this process I learned a lot. It still has errors and looks like a lifeless wax statue but I am not working on it anymore. I will start over.

The Starting Point

girl-old-version-blockout.gif

I started with blocking out a female shape from a box primitive. Now, notice that the outer thigh shape in front view or back view which contributes to the silhouette and the attachment.

Its way off and If I have to model this character with skeleton I can't imagine or place a pelvis bone correctly. I however corrected this last year just for my artistic satisfaction. You can see the corrected models down below.


Correction

Ist PassFinal
girl-blockout-2.gifgirl-final.gif

The corrected version looks more natural and I still has a cartoony feel that I was looking for.


More Renders

Acrylic

acrylic.jpg


Colored Pencil

colored-pencil2.jpg


Skin Shader

face-front.jpg


front-pose.jpg


hand-closeup.jpg

She needs nails too!!


side-view.jpg


braid-back.jpg


Experimenting with Hair

I was thinking of giving her a hair style but my PC said NO lol.

[EDIT]: Just realized that the hair style looks similar to Rambo's. OOPS ;D

hair.jpg


hair1.jpg

Even though it didn't turn out to be something outstanding as I had in my mind but It was a good learning project. Too bad that I couldn't do what I love anymore.

Thank you guys for visiting my post. Please let me know your suggestions and views about the given artwork in your comments below. More soon!! Thanks :))

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center