T800 Micro chip from Terminator 2 for a fan!

Recently I was contacted by a fan of my dtube and youtube channel. He requested that I make / paint a 3d printed model of the micro chip from terminator 2. Having made few 3d models and looking forward to a change of pace I quickly agreed. Despite his multiple offers to pay me for the work I insisted on doing this little model for free as I was really interested in it.

Per my norm, here is a sneak peak of the finished product.

20200211_183749.jpg

The model arrived in two separate pieces, that needed to be glued back to back to form the model. The fit was ok (I have seen worse), however being a 3d printed model there were detail issues that needed correcting.

FB_IMG_1581427603168.jpg
In the photo above I have already joined the two halves. As they are made from clear plastic I quickly give them a light coat of grey just so I can see the surface details. I have already used putty on the edges to help hide the seam between the two pieces. The rest of the surface will require sanding to remove the marks left from the 3d printer layering.

FB_IMG_1581427625300.jpg

In the image above you can see where the paint has been removed from sanding. The darker parts on the edge are what is left of the putty. What is the chip? Well as it need to look like the prop from the movie I needed to cut the plastic down to match. This was the step that I almost ruined the whole thing. The 3d Plastic is very brittle and as soon as I cut it a split ran right across the piece. Lucky for me it would not get in the way. I then slowly removed material from the surface with a file until I had achieved the shape I was after.

FB_IMG_1581427632184.jpg

Painting was very simple. I used a gold lacquer paint from Mr hobby. Once this had dried I masked over the base with Tamiya masking tape, then sprayed the whole lot Black. I then sprayed red Tamiya paint in thin coats over the top. This is to break up the surface and make it look a little more interesting than just one plain old color. once this had dried off came the masking tape.

And just like that!

20200211_183749.jpg
20200211_183731.jpg
20200211_183742.jpg
20200211_183736.jpg

I know its not like one of my normal builds but I hope you like it. :-) This was a fun little distraction from my normal work. Tomorrow I will have an update on my newest build, a P-47 in 1/72nd scale from ACADEMY.

Massive thank you to everyone who has been voting, commenting and resteeming my posts. I really appreciate the support. Until tomorrow!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now