The Fairy Pools

My sister is a genealogy nut...I am too, but have far less time these days. She discovered a few years back that a line of our family hails from Isle of Skye, Scotland. This was a bit shocking since we knew we had Irish ancestors and assumed the rest were English. Anyway, she recently asked me to paint the Fairy Pools in Isle of Skye. They are a brilliant turquoise color and it's such a peaceful place.
I still have a bit of work to do on shading and honing the clouds in a bit better. I thought I would share it for now in the hopes that it would inspire me to get it finished. I often reach a point in paintings where it's hard to find the home run because I have to talk myself out of hating it, or thinking that it's not good enough. This is particularly true when it's based on a photograph. Hope you like it!

Thanks for checking it out!!

Acrylic on canvas, 16x18 inch.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center