Stylized baby ice dragon

Hi All,

I just wanted to share my latest sculpt i completed a few days ago and the process how I went about it. So as many of you guys who follow me know that I have a particular style of sculpting, I wanted to try something different. And I'm loving the end result.

Final Image :

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

The Process:

  1. As usual, choose references. Its the most important part for any project. In this case i took only 2 refernces just because it was a stylized sculpt.

  2. Start building the form using zspheres. Once that is done , u can now start with the sculpting of the character. Also I end up not only placing the eye balls but also colouring them just so as to have a feel of the sculpt while I'm making it.

1.JPG

2.JPG

3.JPG

I then use the tubes to make the wings.
4.JPG

5.JPG

6.JPG

12.JPG

13.JPG

Finally the base is ready for me to add details.
14.JPG

Details in this case would be just sharpening certain this rather than scales and stuff since I'm going to keep it simple yet appealing.

  1. Once the base is ready, I retopologize it. Basically converting from high poly to low poly. So that it can be animated by someone if need be. I do it as a habit really.
    9.jpg

10.jpg

7.jpg

11.jpg

  1. Finally I colour it in Zbrush and bake the maps to be used for rendering in Arnold maya.

15.JPG

16.JPG

17.JPG

I did edit the face marking later just a little bit later.

Final render :
2.jpg

Hope you guys love this cutie ice dragon :) #FireBloodAlways

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now