How It All Started! ( My Love For Art Diaries )

Today's post is somewhat related to yesterday's one where I talked about the sketches from "Rough Edges." The following diary was the proper first sketchbook that I got myself after joining college.

I had never made a diary as such for things like these but as I got myself more absorbed in the world of art, I stumbled across this really cool store named as Chumbak which when translated, means magnet. It always has some really funky stuff and what first caught my eye when I visited there, were the diaries.

I immediately bought it and it soon became my travel partner. I took this diary everywhere I went and gathered as many illustrations as I could, maximum of them being live sketches. Let's have a look and then I will talk about how it all actually started.

IMG_9731.JPG

collage 1.jpg

IMG_9732.JPG

IMG_9734.JPG

IMG_9738.JPG

IMG_9739.JPG

2 efwe.jpg

IMG_9744.JPG

IMG_9750.JPG

IMG_9751.JPG

IMG_9752.JPG


U5dtJpkh5PXAy9b2XJWiRLnsUaFUkom_1680x8400.jpeg


When, Why & How?

I met somebody a few years back who gave me a peek into his collection of art diaries. My mind was instantly blown away just by trying to comprehend the possibilities with them. That was the day and I have never stopped creating illustrations!
The sketchbook which I have shown above is the reason alone why I continued creating art journals and sketchbooks as I rejoice every page of this.

How I do it is very simple. I keep different books for different mediums because, obviously each one has it's own capacity for handling art mediums. For example: I use a sketchbook by Brustro just for ball pen sketches, another diary with higher gsm for mixed media art (watercolor, ink, charcoal, dry pastels) and few others.


I think it's a great way of expression and you don't need to be a professional at it! It's all about experimenting, you know.. Sometimes you make good ones sometimes they turn out to be so bad that you can't help but laugh at them :) But in the end they are yours for you to cherish forever and to be honest, I see it as a collection of memories and imagination.

Till then..


Keep Creating

Lots of Love <3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now