Paintings #8 - I love my trees

I'm certainly not a hippy-type tree-hugger but I do love my trees. I've painted many over the years, so I thought it would be about time to post something about them...

Trees certainly keep artists and photographers busy, and rightly so. But they have many other more important benefits too. As an ecologist and natural history teacher for many years, I am very familiar with these benefits and I'll mention some here briefly...

On the way to Castle Crag, detail (2016)

Doe smallSTEEM.jpg

They produce oxygen and store carbon, obviously. They provide shelter and firewood, food and building materials. A single mature Oak tree, for example, can have over 1000+ species (insects, vertebrates, lichens, fungi etc.) relying on it!

Beacon Oak (2016)

Beacon Oak smallSTEEM.jpg

Their roots bind the soil and prevent soil erosion, and woodlands reduce risk of flooding. Mangrove forests protect coasts from storm erosion and tidal effects.

Beacon tree (2016)

Beacon tree smallSTEEM.jpg

We also get medicine from some (Cinchona bark produces Quinine for combating malaria, for example, or salicylic acid from Willow bark to make Aspirin), and food from others (e.g. fruits and nuts).

Alderley Edge (2017)

Alderley Edge 2017 smSTEEM.jpg

And anyone who spends a few minutes wondering in a woodland will tell you about the calming effect trees have on our lives. The world would be a very different place without trees. I would have far less to paint...and there would be no chocolate either...

I'll just let that sink in...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center