London | City Series | Graphic Design by AJ Brockman

Thumbnails__London_large.jpg

Mixing things up yet again, I wanted to share some of my graphic design work. Digital paintings are my true passion, but I worked in the commercial design field earlier in my career and still do freelance work when I have the time. Graduating with a bachelor of fine arts in graphic design, I have worked on multiple projects for large agencies, car dealerships, and national brands. However, I got burned out very fast in this corporate environment and stepped away from design to pursue my fine art career in 2009.

This is my city series and the goal was to highlight some of the most infamous cities around the world. On a personal level, all of these cities are ones that I hope to visit one day and this project allowed me to get to know these cities before ever traveling to them. I chose a specific landmark or something of importance for each city that represented the history, culture, or other relevant symbolism. Furthermore incorporating the correlating country flag in the background. I will be sharing many of these in the future but first up, London!

London is the capital and most populous city of both England and the United Kingdom. Standing on the River Thames in the south east of the island of Great Britain, London has been a major settlement for two millennia. It was founded by the Romans, who named it Londinium. London's ancient core, the City of London, largely retains its 1.12-square-mile (2.9 km2) medieval boundaries. Since at least the 19th century, "London" has also referred to the metropolis around this core, historically split between Middlesex, Essex, Surrey, Kent and Hertfordshire, which today largely makes up Greater London, a region governed by the Mayor of London and the London Assembly. London contains four World Heritage Sites: the Tower of London; Kew Gardens; the site comprising the Palace of Westminster, Westminster Abbey, and St Margaret's Church; and the historic settlement of Greenwich (in which the Royal Observatory, Greenwich defines the Prime Meridian. Other landmarks include Buckingham Palace, the London Eye, Piccadilly Circus, St Paul's Cathedral, Tower Bridge, Trafalgar Square, The Shard and the iconic red phone booths throughout the city. London is home to numerous museums, galleries, libraries, sporting events and other cultural institutions, including the British Museum, National Gallery, Natural History Museum, Tate Modern, British Library and West End theatres. The London Underground is the oldest underground railway network in the world.

posters_display.jpg

posters_close-up_detail.jpg

Thank you for reading and please consider upvoting this post, following me, and leaving a comment. If you're looking to go the extra mile in helping me on my journey, also please consider are–steem so I am able to reach your audience. The steemit community means the world to me and I look forward to posting daily content with all of you.

As my account grows, it is becoming more difficult to reply to every comment. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will do my best to respond. I can guarantee I at least read every comment given. I am dedicated to spending a full-time effort on this platform. Everything posted on my profile (@abrockman) is 100% original content and exclusively shared on steemit. Any reproduction of my work without written consent is strictly prohibited. Please remember the best way to grow our community is by producing outstanding original content of your own to share with all of us.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center