RE: RE: My Emotional Gaming Moments
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Emotional Gaming Moments

RE: My Emotional Gaming Moments

Unfortunately, the only of these games that I've had any experience with would be an XCOM game, which happened to be a sweet spin-off that I am sure helped to keep interest in the series: "RebelStar: Tactical Command"
A GBA game, not the most stable either, due to being a 3D engine built in a 2D-based system. At (I would guess) 90+% stability, it makes some AAA releases of today look buggy as all get-up! Solid gameplay, too, if a little random due to the nature of the game.
I have similarly experienced all the major ideas put forth, I concur that the medium is (hopefully) getting better at all the hallmarks and even creating new niches` of good story-telling mediums.
The most Heart-wrenching moment in any game I've played, however, would be the double-whammy beginnings of "Tales of Phantasia" in which is a wonderful Action Battle and JRPG system. So I explored the WHOLE first environment, the Hero's hometown, there was all sorts of wonderment. Then the heroes went on a hunt and OOooooofff…
You just don't want to interact with anything for a while after that..
..Then you are later imprisoned, and escape with the help of a mysterious hand, giving you a magic item to aid in eroding the wall.(spoilers hidden) Which then allows you to escape after learning some further.. sniffle..emotionally abrasive facts of the story. I haven't even gotten past the first mass battle yet, but this is a great game that I have to take in small bursts. Since I lost my save however, I'll just have to start from scratch.
But since I GM for Savage Worlds, I don't really play as much videogame RPGs now...(Since my brain has a few, at this point) ..Oh well!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center