RE: RE: The New(-ish) MacBook Pro with Touchbar - the Computer Apple Doesn't Want to Make
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The New(-ish) MacBook Pro with Touchbar - the Computer Apple Doesn't Want to Make

RE: The New(-ish) MacBook Pro with Touchbar - the Computer Apple Doesn't Want to Make

Like you, I want to live on my iPad - but there are some realities that Apple just hasn't come to terms with yet. When I'm programming, I don't want to have to move my hands that much. It's why we live on our command+tabs and hotkeys. Even putting the pathetic excuse for multi-tasking (if you can even call it that) aside, I've tried to use my iPad for coding and my hands end up doing so many things, I lose track of where I was. Switching windows is work, and everything that takes my hands off the keyboard is a failure, IMHO. Not to mention the issue of actually trying to test anything locally. But even if I had to spin up a dev box and push directly to that, I'd consider it, if my hands weren't constantly getting in the way of my screen so I can switch between Safari and my editor/terminal window.

I'd love to see the day when an iPad could be a solid replacement for my MBP, but I just don't see it happening any time soon. The fundamental premise of how people interact is problematic for me when trying o do my job. :(

PS - seriously, tho. Physical escape key. I could have gotten over everything else, but when I can't quit out of a remote terminal session because of a software bug, I get rrrrrrrragey.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center