The Camel story - I prefer poachers to you!

Camels! Have you seen one up-close? Have you ever ridden one? If your answer to these questions is a ‘YES’, and it was from anywhere else except the desert, then you have abused these very good mannered and humble animal. I will admit I too am an offender, but only insofar as it needed me to understanding the abuse against them.

The Camel belongs to the desert! Leave it there!

Camels live in the deserts. That is the first fundamental fact that incriminates anybody who has seen it close and even more, who has ridden it, unless he did it in the desert. Which of course I doubt many have, unless you are from Africa and Asia.

Abducted

Man has not only encroached the wild abodes and destroyed them in the bid to serve his food, fiber and fuel demands, but he has also rallied against the wild by bringing the animals from the comfort of their wild abodes, to his domestic quarters.

That is how you get to find people raring snakes and all those sort of things in their back yards. (Sorry if you do this, I am honestly not a fun of it). Several animals have fallen victim, abducted from their ‘home’ and brought for domestication!

I am personally sensitive to animals. I believe that just as I so wish to always be in my natural place of abode, animals too should be left in their places of abode. In this case, the desert, for the Camel.

But of course that is not the case. These days you will find Camels being led on streets for public processions, for paid viewing and rides. I have witnessed this several times. And there you find people taking turns to ride the animal.

To the circus or public parade

I don’t know about other countries, but whereas there are in theory, ‘animal rights’ in Uganda, they are just about that, ‘theory!” And people can do with animals whatever they like.

I know we all hate, and speak out against the poachers, but let’s be honest, who is worse? The poacher who shoots the animal to kill out in the wild, or the man who brings it to the public street and enslaves it to being ridden for pay? The poacher who shoots it down in the wild, or the one who abducts and brings it for circus shows!

I say ‘abducts’ because let’s face it, do these animals come at will? The answer is NO.

But they are just animals! You say, but what if the animals also said, but they are just humans, and took you out of that couch comfy home and to their wild for circus shows or for public viewing? Just thinking.

Show animals some respect!



Banner by @shai-hulud

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center