Urania leilus, the green-banded urania - Moth of the Amazon

2U0B3839_m.jpg

This beautiful day-flying moth is not rare and during this time of the year, many can be seen migrating.

But they never sit still! Well, at least not where we live. But yesterday one took shelter from an incoming tropical shower. It landed on a bush in the garden. Can you spot it?

2U0B3831_m.jpg

2U0B3834_m.jpg

This moth is a migrating species. Around October many of those moths are flying northwards, often along rivers. I’ve seen many of those moths crossing the Commewijne River flying low over the water.

Commewijne Rivier.jpg

I could not find out why they migrate around this time of the year. But my guess is that they migrate to breed.

I was very pleased that I was finally able to take a few photographs. It was on my wish list for a long time. Look at the beautiful details of its wings.

2U0B3838_detail.jpg

They are a big species of moths. They almost look like little birds when they fly through the sky with their long tails.

2U0B3837_m.jpg

They rest during the night. They hide in trees. I’ve seen one going in to a tree just before nighttime. I was surprised because there were many birds in that tree as well. But apparently these moths are toxic and fear no predators. Their bright colours signal their toxicity.

2U0B3838_m.jpg


  • Green-banded Urania
  • Urania leilus LINNAEUS, 1758
  • Superfamily - GEOMETROIDEA
  • Superfamily - URANIOIDEA
  • Family - URANIIDAE
  • subfamily - URANIINAE

Believe it or not but you can buy dead ones on Amazon. I was very surprised but there's a whole butterfly trade online. I rather have them alive in our garden.

Ornament 2.jpg

Much love,

Gardenbsquared



PS

This is my latest gif btw. Feel free to use it.

output_pJYp3g.gif



U5dsr1VhEKXmHkQPT1haGuac9zVsz6L_1680x8400.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now