RE: RE: Anarchists Are Not Surprised By Political "Scandals"
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anarchists Are Not Surprised By Political "Scandals"

RE: Anarchists Are Not Surprised By Political "Scandals"

Thanks for the book recommendation. Unfortunately it's not on audible.com, my normal go-to for audio books, but I'll hunt around for it.

I would be completely find with people voluntarily choosing their own system of government. The key is consent and voluntary action. It's possible you may be straw manning my argument a bit since what you keep describing as Classical Liberalism sounds quite like what I envision voluntaryism based on the NAP to be. If I get around to understanding the labels you're using by reading the book you recommended maybe we can have a more interesting conversation about what specific areas we actually disagree about (not just spend time trying to define the words we're using).

I absolutely want to manage power over you friend

We seem to use words differently. Defensive use of force is a wonderful thing, but I would never describe that as a "power over" someone else. The use of defensive force is a rational, logical response to someone else's initiation of force. The non-aggression principle is clear on this.

will not allow sovereign individuals to put a ruler in place if they wish it

Curious where you got that. By "if they wish," you're describing a voluntary agreement which has no conflict with voluntaryism (but might have some conflict with a shared understanding of "ruler"). Again, I think we're just struggling here with arguing for or against words we use differently. Wittgenstein would be amused.

My views on voluntaryism are based on my understanding of where our species is headed as far as Maslow's Hierarchy of needs. It's contextual and completely open to reinterpretation given a different context. To be even more specific, it's based on my experiences living in the United States.

If the U.S. didn't implement Classical Liberalism adequately to be used as an example, can you point to a historical example that helps me better understand your position?

Thanks for an interesting conversation.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center