STOP HUMAN TRAFFICKING✋♨️

In a world where Human Trafficking, Abuse and Dehumanisation are the order of the day, victims of such abuse are silenced/killed, physically, emotionally and psychologically damaged for life and never get the justice they deserve.

As a human rights activist, i have seen countless cases of abuse, depravation and human degradation.

Here's a recent example:
I was sitting outside my house one Saturday evening reading a book by Joyce Meyer. When a pretty little girl of about 8yrs walked past me.
I called out to her to come sit with me. I asked her her name, She only responded with a smile.

I began reading out to her and showing her pictures in my book.
It didn't take long for me to realise she didn't understand/speak English.

All of a sudden, a tall dark man came out of nowhere and began yelling at us.
Immediately the girl saw him, she hid behind me and clung to me.
The fear in her eyes was indescribable.
Before I could say Jack Robinson, he came closer, jerked her up and began hitting her and yelling at her in Hausa(I don't speak Hausa).

Realising I didn't understand him, he continued yelling in English.
He began raining curses and called me all sorts of things.
Here's what he said:

🗣️You infidel, leave my daughter alone. Don't corrupt her with your books and make her a rebellion.
I am giving her out in marriage soon, so please leave her alone!.

He even threatened me, before dragging her away.
I was in so much shock that I couldn't respond. It took me about two minutes to grasp what had happened.

Neighbours then came out to warn me to stay away from the little girl whose name I later learned is Fatima.
Some even advised me to move out and 'run for my life'.

IMG_20180325_113430.jpg

That wasn't the first time I had been threatened. And I had moved and changed apartments twice already in the last eight(8) months.
But, I won't this time.
I refuse to be intimidated.

IMG_20180325_113546.jpg

I sought advice from the VO.TU community.
@beanz said

A lone fighter is easily taken down, so seek support from friends and family and others who support your cause.

That encouraged me to go report this case to the Local Government Chairman of the community hoping he would help.

IMG_20180322_125922.jpg

After going there several times to book an appointment with him to no avail. I finally got to see him after a couple of days.

He outrightly told me there was nothing he could do about it and to go mind my own business and have my own kids😮.
Can you believe that?.

That only reignited the flames of my passion to put an end to this horrible act.

How can young girls be subjected to the kitchen and learning to be good housewives and given out in marriage as early 8yrs?.😡
Why should only boys be sent to good schools to study and be literate, but girls taught to be nothing more than baby making machines?.

Even when girls are sent to school, they are not supposed to play some particular leadership roles and are seen as less important, less smart and less sufficient compared to their male counterparts.

You can read about my International Women's Day visit to one of the biggest and most notorious secondary schools in my community, Bwari,
where I gave a lecture on gender equality
here

Here's a similar video

So, I reached out to my Lawyer friends and got to meet with some of the lecturers and administrators of the Nigerian Law School in my community, Bwari.

IMG_20180324_151411.jpg

We reached out to the International Federation of Women Lawyers(FIDA) and the National agency for Prohibition of Trafficking in Persons(NAPTIP) and got their support☺️.

IMG_20180325_115455.jpg

After a series of meetings, we came to a conclusion that Women Lawyers and Lawyers in general need to be more aware of this issue.

IMG_20180324_151117.jpg

So we organised an ANTI-HUMAN TRAFFICKING ADVOCACY TRAINING FOR LAWYERS AT THE NIGERIAN LAW SCHOOL, BWARI, FCT.*
It held on Saturday, 24th March, 2018, with over 200 Lawyers in attendance.👨👩🏻.

IMG_20180324_101736.jpg

I also participated in the training although I am not a Lawyer🤓.

IMG_20180324_101852.jpg

Here is the Programme Of Event.

IMG_20180324_102039.jpg
(You would have to zoom in to view)

We started by taking the National Anthem, then opening remarks by Law School's Representatives.

IMG_20180324_101748.jpg

Then we all watched a video on human trafficking.
It was horrible, watching all those 'illegal' immigrants get killed while trying to migrate in search of greener pastures.☹️

IMG_20180324_132754.jpg

Then we had our first lecture on 'The Overview of Human Trafficking', which was given by Mr.Arinze Orakwue, Director of Public Enlightenment, National Agency for Prohibition of Trafficking in Persons (NAPTIP).

IMG_20180324_140713.jpg
After which we had a Questions and Answers segment.

Then Lecture Two: 'Legal Challenges to Combating Human Trafficking'.
Taken by Mr. Arinze Mbanefo, Legal Officer, NAPTIP.

IMG_20180324_101736.jpg
Then another Questions and Answers segment.

Lecture three: 'The Need To Provide Legal Services To Victims of Human Trafficking' by Bar.Ngozi Ikenga, Chairperson, International Federation of Women Lawyers(FIDA).

IMG_20180324_134915.jpg
Followed by a Questions and Answers segment.

IMG_20180324_134908.jpg

Then we had a guest speaker Ms.Adriana Mancini, who flew in all the way from Italy to attend the Programme.

IMG_20180324_132906.jpg

She shared her experience with us. She was once a victim of Human trafficking and forced into prostitution by her own uncle.

Now she wants to help other victims and survivors by providing psychological, emotional and moral support for them, so that they would know that they are not alone.

IMG_20180324_132855.jpg

She urged us to to continue the awareness campaign and help to curb such degrading acts.

IMG_20180324_132806.jpg

Then Lecture Four: ' Becoming An Anti-Human Trafficking Advocate by the Executive Director, Devatop Centre for Africa Development'.

IMG_20180324_143035.jpg
Followed by a Questions and Answers segment.

Then the Goodwill message was given by Festus Keyamu, Senior Advocate of Nigeria, SAN.☺️

IMG_20180324_143017.jpg

He urged us to offer Pro-bono services(free Lawyer services) to Abused victims and give them our unwavering support.

IMG_20180324_143023.jpg

If you or anyone you know is undergoing such experiences please report immediately by calling the Hotline or on their website below.👇

IMG_20180324_133246.jpg

I believe the more Lawyers and people participate in this campaign the more empowered we would be and the lesser the incidents of Child Abuse, Human Trafficking and Degradation in our society.

IMG_20180324_101742.jpg

We were also presented with Certificates of Participation.💃

IMG_20180325_113655.jpg

Let's join hands to make the world a better place.

IMG_20180324_133215.jpg
Or I'm gonna get 👉 you .💪

You can leave your questions in the comment section or chat me up on discord #adedoyinwealth0762
Thank you so much Steemit Community♨️ for making this possible.

Let's do this again.

I hope you do consider to join me in the fight against Child Abuse, Child Marriages and Human Trafficking.

I anticipate your support.

ALL PICTURES WERE TAKEN BY ME, WITH MY INFINIX HOT NOTE PHONE📱.📱

Thanks for reading. 🙏
I Love and appreciate You all.
From Adedoyin-wealth.
💖

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now