Millennials of Steemit, these are the lies you were told growing up.

  • That some dude is gonna walk up to me and offer me free drugs. Where are my free drugs, god dammit?!
  • Turning the lights on in your car is illegal.
  • "You'll regret spending so much time on that computer when you're older." Nope.
  • You need to define yourself by your job. I wasn't told this directly but we live in a culture of dream jobs or people asking "what's your job" when they meet you. My work is cool but it's just work. My hobbies are what I define myself around.It's so ingrained. They don't even ask what your job is. They ask you what you do. Like sometimes I binge game of thrones, man.
  • "You won't have a calculator everywhere you go."
  • "You don't need work experience; grades will be enough."
  • "Be loyal to your company. They'll take care of you."
  • All guys will only want sex from you *all the time. Turns out that kind of thinking is harmful to a young woman's sexual-psychological development.
  • "Student loans are normal, don't be afraid to go into debt for that out of state graduate degree"
  • "High school will be the best years of your life. "At 27, I have to say, those were the worst years of my life.
  • "It will all make sense when you're older." It makes less sense.
  • That I'm smart but lazy. I'm actually just completely average but thanks to this lie I never developed many good habits or self discipline.
  • H2
    H3
    H4
    3 columns
    2 columns
    1 column
    Join the conversation now
    Logo
    Center