Arrived safe and sound in Acapulco

We arrived here yesterday at 9pm after a trip of around 11 hours from the moment we left the house.
We took a taxi into town at 11 am, stopped to get some snacks for the ferry and wait time in the airport and then hurried to the ferry that would bring us from Playa del Carmen to Cozumel.
I ended up getting scammed a little for the ferry, and kicked myself for it, because I should know better by now than to get scammed by local sales people. Their official company gear doesn't mean a thing. They'll still try to do one over on you if you don't know the exact prices.
Ah well, it was a 15 dollar extra for the lady, so I hope she puts it to good use and I know for next time...
I'll write another post on how to avoid these tourist taxes, as we call it here.

┍━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━┑

IMG_20240209_121625.jpg
It was windy haha.

IMG_20240209_124907.jpg
The view from the ferry

IMG_20240209_130028.jpg
Carnival in Cozumel. 150th anniversary this year

IMG_20240209_130057.jpg
Wonder woman mermaid?

┍━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━┑

Getting through security in Cozumel was a breeze. I think we stood in line for 15 minutes.
We had plenty of time to get to where we needed to go. The airport is really tiny.

The plane was on time and we got to Mexico city 20 minutes early.
The main international airport in Mexico city is really old and quite large but it's all quite easy to find unless you have to change terminals.

Food doesn't cost an arm and a leg there either, compared to the other airport we've been at. Mexico city has three airports. Two of which are 1.5 hours from the city and one isn't even in Mexico city but in Toluca.

The 3 hours and 30 minutes we had to wait weren't too bad actually. After a few toilet runs, some running around to see what we wanted to eat and a stop at the 7 eleven for a coffee, by the time we were done with our food, it was time to get to the gate.

┍━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━┑

But first, I had to take a photo of this store. It's actually a famous Dutch chain store and I was quite surprised to find this mini version of it in the airport of Mexico city. Really weird.

IMG_20240209_184103.jpg

First I thought it was a knock off and they just gave it the HEMA name, but nope..their products are genuine.
Really weird. 😂

IMG_20240209_184407.jpg

And then I found this cute little thing.
I swear, put blue eyes in the face instead of brown, and it looks just like my eldest when she was a baby/toddler. Yup, it got even weirder. Who can I ask to pay us for using her image? 🤣

IMG_20240209_184248.jpg

┍━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━┑

The plane ride from Mexico city to Acapulco is less than an hour. The plane takes off and lands almost immediately. It's funny because driving there would take 5 hours...
But on the plane, as soon as you don't see Mexico city anymore, you're halfway there.

Here's a very bad picture of Mexico city at night from the plane. Just to show how impressive the city is.

IMG_20240209_201549.jpg

┍━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━┑

As I said before, we arrived at 9 pm local time in Acapulco and were greeted by our dear, sweet old taxi driver from two years ago.
😍🤗

He dropped us off at our Airbnb and after ensuring that we'd be OK, and a promise that he'd be only a phone call away, Mr. Arturo left us to explore the place.
The guy worked at the airport for 40 years. I'm sure he has some interesting stories..

And what do I see on our fridge?
Off to a good start!

IMG_20240210_004414.jpg

We were too tired to move around much so the youngest and I decided to get some small stuff, like water, at the Oxxo.

We had quite an early night. I slept like a log and at noon, we were at the Jardín Secreto (the secret garden) for our briefing. My daughter decided to volunteer too.
I told her it'll look good on her resume. Although volunteering at Anarchapulco might be frowned upon at a job interview. 🤣
Thst being said: if there is a people who were Anarchists by nature, it's the people of Mexico, so I'd say she'll be fine.
They gave us our slots at registration so we'll get to see most people pass through in the next few days.

I'll be doing a few hours elsewhere too, just to get more of an all round experience.
My daughter will probably also be minding some Anarchist kiddos, so she might come home with more money than me haha.

┍━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━┑

For lunch, we had our first Acapulco sopes. Good and cheap!

IMG_20240210_140148.jpg

After lunch, we made our way to the place where we stayed 2 years ago, to visit an old friend.

Found him!

IMG_20240210_143445.jpg

The view from our terrace at our Airbnb isn't bad either...

IMG_20240210_104902.jpg

┍━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━┑

In the evening, my youngest and I went to get some tacos at the busiest Taqueria, and it didn't disappoint!

IMG_20240210_205308.jpg

We spotted Andrew Kauffman at the table next to us, who recognised us right away after one glance at my son. I'm proud to say, he's quite unforgettable. Ask anyone who met him at Hivefest. 😬🤗

Anyway, not just a volunteer but also a VIP!
We're off to a good start!

IMG_20240210_141509.jpg

This coming week, I'll be rocking my Hive t-shirt as much as I can. I'll let people come to me and ask about it, rather than chasing them.
Sounds much better than the other way around.

I'll keep you posted!

bye text.png


imageedit_0_8411722046.png


As an affiliate with ledger, I receive a percentage of the sales generated through this link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center