Kenya has a long way to go in the Financial Sector.

Hi Steemit family,

I love my home country, lived here practically all my life but there are some things that really bug me. Besides having our tea and coffee being consumed in the international market globally, it's a shame that we really do not have a structured derivatives market locally, one that is operational. The one that currently exists only deals with Equity Index Futures and Single Stock Futures. The Nairobi Stock Exchange has been singing the derivatives song since I was in high school, I am now a grown woman.

Like what is really taking so long? Is it that the current management does not see the need for this? Do we need fresh blood in the financial sector? Is the implementation too big of a task? I for one know that if something is not done about it, the Kenya shilling will always remain an exotic currency in the financial markets. Very few people trade such currencies with the majority going for the major currency pairs, EURO, USD, GBP, YEN, in any combination just to name a few.

It's time we looked into Kenya as one of the economic hubs in Africa. Otherwise, countries like Ethiopia, South Africa and lately Tanzania will be way ahead of us in terms of GDP. There's a lot to love about this country, the weather and tourism won't cut it for us forever, it's high time we stepped up. Let me know what other areas you feel need some improvement in the comment section below, we can always do better.
free image from pixabay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center