Random Acts of Kindness

steemit kate.jpg

Random Acts of Kindness

I am a senior, I live in a rural community where seniors far outnumber other age groups. I have a friend who, although not a senior, is disabled and lives on a very small income. This friend goes with me to the local food bank every first and third Friday where we both get much needed groceries.

Last week my friend was in too much pain to go to the food bank. I went and picked up food for both of us. Then I delivered the food to my friend. That family will eat this week because I was willing to pick up food and deliver it to their home. It was a small effort on my part, but my friend and family have assured me several times that it made their lives much easier.

I had planned to go for the food for my family, so it was not out of the way, nor a hardship for me, and it blessed someone else. What a wonderful experience.

I chose to not publish pictures other than my own as I have not received permission from either my friend or the food bank, and do not wish to invade my friends privacy. I can assure you that participating in Random Acts of Kindness like this has rewards all of its own. The smiles and grateful tears from those who receive stay with me for a long time.

I realized just how much I am appreciated when, in February 2017 and again in March 2017 I lost two sisters to untimely deaths. My neighbors and friends ralleyed around me and people went out of their way to see that my family was cared for and much love was shown. While my sisters will be sorely missed, the friends and neighbors have filled part of the vacuum of their passing with a new kind of love. I urge you, reach out, find ways to show kindness to those around you, without looking for rewards or returns. You never know how much your kindness is appreciated until something rocks your world, like death rocked mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now