Simple acts of kindness

The Job field I work in is one where the people I help are 1. glad to see me and 2. often stranded without my services which amplifies number 1.

Due to 1 & 2 people will on occasion give me a tip. Yesterday a kind Gentleman on his way to Minnesota gave me $20 which I much appreciated. Sometimes people will give $5 or even $1. I am appreciative of anything and everything that is given because a tip is a nicety, not a requirement.

Sometimes people will call the office and leave a good review. These word of mouth reviews are even more valuable than the money that is given.

The gratuity I find especially dear is when someone gives something other than a financial gift. I had a Hispanic man, just back from Mexico give me a large and brightly colored hammock one day that he had just brought back from his country. I am sure the Hammock did not cost big money, though it is very nicely made. That Tip is very special to me because it is something not easily exhausted like cash money.

A gentleman this morning wrote on the back of a business "2 lunches Comp" after I helped him. It turns out he owns a local restaurant. I am sure the 2 lunches cost him less than money from his wallet but the tip means more to me because it is more tangible/memorable.

Those simple acts of kindness stay with someone and the memory created possibly will remind me to be more patient/kind in the future.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center