My Actifit Report Card: January 3 2019 - Hide N Seek

When I got in work today my boss asked me if I'd take down the store's Christmas tree. I thought, no bother, how hard could it be?

I hadn't realised quite how long it would take me. Still, at times it was quite fun.

The tree was situated at the front of the shop and so was in the perfect spot to greet shoppers entering. I found it fascinating how many people stated the obvious, when they saw me.

"Oh, you're taking the tree down then?"

"Um, yes." I replied and smiled. Again and again.

"Christmas is over, I see."

"It appears so. Ha ha..." Another smile.

Then there were those customers, who first noting I looked very busy, asked if I could help them find their perfect sofa. At this point, I'd either descend the ladder, stop unravelling the tree lights or get off my hands and knees where I was trying to dismantle a particularly difficult branch from its position, smile again, and politely let the customer know I'd find someone to help them.

One of my colleagues, a lovely chap who does actually sell the furniture, let me into a secret not so long ago... he said, customers are attracted to busy looking people. You could have two sales assistants on the floor, not doing very much, and then me grappling with a 10ft Christmas tree and I'd 9 out of 10 times be the person approached for help. It does seem that he has a point.

Still, I kept going. First, I took off the baubles. Then I unwound the tree lights and carefully rewound them round a brown paper bag. I started from the bottom and slowly made my way up. This eventually led me to needing my trusty ladder. Hence the addition of stair mill on my actifit activity choice. I would have put up and down ladder but that option appears to have been missed somehow.

Anyway's here's a pic of the tree at this point in the story. I probably should have taken one at the start, but, well people kept interrupting me.


source

Ummm, it appears the resize app swallowed my pic, so the one above is very similar and is still dressed.

Bit by bit, or more accurately branch by branch the tree came down.

One of the best things about spending the day dismantling a tree in a busy store is that I got to people watch all day long. It was especially fun when I was up my ladder. My vantage point meant a mini game of i spy was on the cards.


My own photo, thankfully not swallowed by the resizer.

By far, the highlight of the day, was a game of hide n seek carried out by a boy called Mikey and his little sister. Their game covered the whole store. And a little girl's voice could be heard shouting, from her seat in the children's section of the bedding department, "Mikey, are you ready yet?"



7814
Daily Activity, Stair Mill

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center