"The Regent", an original folk song performed in a really cold river.

When I'm not performing as Aminal, surrounded by blinky lights, pedals and instruments, I enjoy the intimacy that acoustic music brings. Connecting with the audience as a story-teller. There's something vulnerable that I love about acoustic performance.

This song, The Regent, was written while studying at uni and trying to keep in touch with my lover across the atlantic. Writing an essay on critical discourse theory, while confronted by the absurdity of turning love into text into binary code. We lose so much through words. The Regent deals with the sense that our words in some way hold us captive. Our attempts to reach each other only assuring our distance.

Here are the lyrics... follow if you'd like to join my collaborative inspiration project where I write songs and soundscapes on request exclusively for steemit users!

The Regent, by Dave Knowles

Oh, this order to reify the seagulls
The bears and deer
For the eyes of readers

See, it's only water if we make it so through theatre
Through plots to play
To deify the regent

Is this shifting veil all we'll ever hold, dear
But I want you here in the fog, in the fog
In the fog, what's there to fear in the fog
Isolated here to the fog,
All we hold dear in the fog is our words stacked in pairs
Against the damned, the damned
The damned who woke to hear

Come, sit forward. This is no time for freedom
For quiet days in the arms of Eden
For I'm a dreamer, pray, hear my plea
My even hand it tears no skin
It burns no bead of dew

But this twisted veil
Has tethered me to the fractured scales
Like a dog, like a dog,

Like a dog, chaffed by the chain and the log
Our bodies to bear the forgotten love,
All we hold dear of our gods, of our gods
Lie with the damned, the damned, the damned who woke to hear
The damned, the damned, the damned who woke to hear

But we'll endure
Shameless in the dark
A joyous tear from a warm heart

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now