Mexican Murals - Bicycles and Safety in my Neighborhood [CCC's Street Art Contest #200]

It's the 200th edition of CCC's Weekly Street Art Contest, so I can't miss out on this one! I even have a mural to submit that appeared recently only two blocks from where I live, right on the corner of Vicente Eguía and Juan Cano in the San Miguel Chapultepec neighborhood of Mexico City, (which is right next to Tacubaya).

P_20240614_121840.jpg

Tacubaya and Bicycles, of course I can't miss out on posting this wall painting! Of course, I have to acknowledge that it is on the less spectacular end of the incredible examples of street art I have found over the years. (Yes, it's been that long! Take a look at my collection here.) Straight geometric forms in various colors is maybe the simplest way to make an otherwise boring street corner interesting. What I do love, though, is how the lines are extensions of bicycle frames. The more I look at it, the more this piece of art keeps growing on me.

P_20240616_091614.jpg

"For a Tacubaya without Fear" is what the lettering on the top of the wall says. Under the painted windows a bunch of kids on bikes riding up and down the hills add to the bike-related context. Still, I am not sure what this place actually is. In fact, I don't remember that there has been anything here, in this piece of side-building attached to the apartment house. Maybe a bike shed? Or some type of minimalist community cycling center?

P_20240616_091644.jpg

Finally, on the door of the place there may be an indicator at least to the creators of this wall image. The big heart says Chato and his friends on it. No idea as to who it could be, but it's obvious that they all left their hand prints with names on the door. Nice! Some of them look small enough to be kids' hands. I was hoping to get some extra info by doing a search, but I have not found anything at all. Who knows, maybe at some point I'll find out who Chato is, and what this place is all about.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center