My First Time Experience In A Courtroom


image.png
Image designed on canva


Hi guys,

An interesting topic has been released by the HL community to help us talk about our experience with the court. I’ve gone through a few posts and I’ve seen some people have had only one-time experiences with the court. Well, others have been to the courtroom more than once and others went there for other purposes.

I’ve never been to a real court even though I can describe to you how courtrooms are. I don’t watch a lot of movies so my experience with courtrooms is not from there either. I do see how the courtrooms look like when we the news live on tv. I’ve watched the divorce processes of some celebrities online and I must say it was pretty intense. The latest one I can remember was between Johnny Depp and Amber Heard.

In this divorce case, a lot of people were interested in it because of the guy. The guy, later on, won the case which came as a huge surprise to a lot of people because in most divorce cases the women are the winners; is there ever a winner in divorce cases?

If I wanna be sincere, I didn’t know about this case until it became so popular and I started seeing it on TikTok.

My first-time experience with the court was a student court. What? A student court? Well, that was the same look on my face when I heard about a student court. I was not surprised cause at the tertiary level we do have the student parliament and all that and they do things like they are in the Parliament House.



In this court case, a student who was aspiring for the position of the src president was disqualified due to certain reasons and he on the other hand didn’t see why he should be disqualified. He took the EC (those who vetted them) to court. So a communique was released on all our social media handles telling us all about the court case and when matters will be dealt with.

At first, I was not interested because we were approaching the exams week and I had to study. So I took my books to campus to study but as I was passing by I happened to see them in one of the lecture halls. When I entered I was amazed at how well they conducted the court proceedings. Each time you wanted to address the student judge you had to call him my lord.



Even though he was our colleague you had to talk to him with respect for the few hours that he was a judge. He had the gavel which we mostly see being used to call order in the courtroom. After listening to both parties the judge took some time to analyze the case and come up with a decision. Along with his jury, they decided that what the EC did was right as it was the responsibility of the aspiring president to make sure that everything was fine in his area before coming for vetting.

What happened was that his aspiring vice’s CGPA was way below the required grade point and as such he had to be disqualified. As a further warning to future aspirants, they also disqualified the aspiring president. The aspiring president took them to court in hope that the court will grant him another slot of changing a vice president but then the court refused and only ended up fining him.

That’s my experience with the court. I didn’t wait until the proceedings has finished though cause I had to study. But for the few minutes that I sat in there, it felt like a real court.

Thank you for reading.

source of gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency