Picture a day - April blizzard

After lunch, my wife sent me to a grocery store to buy carrots and onion. Looking out the window, I saw a scary but at the same time alluring picture (on one hand, but on the other hand...) - a very strong blizzard was raging outside! All the ground and surfaces became covered with snow, again. I'm always wary of taking photographs in such terrorist conditions, but sometimes I still want to unholster my camera... I decided to borrow the camera with me, in case I would want to snatch a few shots (for the sake of fresh contrast to the stuff I shoot usually). The experiment was a success! I really haven’t had such shots in my collection yet...

But the most amazing thing, probably, is that this photo was taken just yesterday! While crocuses, cherries and rhododendrons might already blooming for a while in most parts of Europe - here to the east, deep into the continent, winter still recedes, still strikes back... I already was considering to start the cycling season, but now I put it off again until the snow melts. Hope it won't be long!

После обеда жена послала меня в зеленную лавку - купить морковки и картошки. Выглянув в окно, я увидел пугающую но вместе с тем и манящую картинку (с одной стороны... с другой стороны...). За окном бушевала внезапная и очень сильная вьюга! Я всегда опасаюсь заниматься фотографией в таких террористических условиях, но иногда все же хочется обнажать камеру... Я решил взять камеру с собой, и надеялся сделать несколько кадров, для разнообразия и контраста с тем что обычно фотографирую. Да, эксперимент удался! таких кадров у меня в коллекции действительно еще не было...

А самое удивительное, конечно, то что этот снимок был сделан вчера. В некоторых регионах Европы уже давно цветут крокусы, вишни и рододендроны - а у нас зима отступает, отступает, но все еще наносит ответные удары... Я уже собирался открыть велосезон, но теперь снова отложу это, пока снег не растает. Надеюсь что долго ждать мне не придется!


2This is my entry for the PhotoFeed Cityscape Photography contest, round #73.

I chose to share the black-and-white version of the capture, as it obtained some cinematic and 'chronicle' feeling to it. What will you say?

location: St.Petersburg, Russia April 2024 natural lighting
camera/lens: Canon 5DM3 Canon 70-200mm raw-conv.
f/5.6 t 1/250 ISO 800 ---
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency