Interuniversity competition: a day filled with stress and happiness.

It was a few days ago when the school I graduated from called me to come and train their students for taekwondo. The funniest part was they have a competition they are going anytime soon.

I was shocked because on a proper competition you must be training for months before you can go anywhere. Well, I do not have a choice; I accept the offer to train the students, and since it's the school I graduated from, I just have to do it.

IMG_2086.jpeg

So we train every morning and night. Now it's the day for the competition. I did all I could to train the athletes. And make sure I gave my hundred percent to them.
It's the day of the competition, and I couldn't sleep till dawn. I was just so worried and tired just because the students don't have enough training. Although it is not how far, but how well. But in this case, I just want to make sure I, as a coach, do my responsibilities to my athletes before taking them to any competition.

We were almost two hundred in numbers going for the competition; actually, it's an inter-university competition in which all games will be played. But since my game is just taekwondo, meanwhile I also handled judo to it. I did the two together because the school doesn't have a judo coach, and to not let them down, I just have to do the needful. So in total, I've got eight students, four for taekwondo and four for judo.
IMG_1657.JPG

IMG_20240713_111404_520.jpg

Our boss took off as early as 6 am in the morning. It was overcrowded, but we managed it like that. Everybody keeps saying I want to go. It was fun going there, and the journey took almost six hours to get there. Most of my athletes are very tired.

After spending hours traveling, we got there, and then I told all my athletes to go and relax. I went ahead to see their coach and the moderators to please give us two hours to settle down. They agreed; after that, the competition was about to start, and we all did light training together and so on.
As the competition is about to start, I saw some other set of people entering the gathering uninvited. So there was a little misunderstanding between the coaches. Both taekwondo and judo coaches are claiming authorities. After spending hours on settling matters, they later agreed to start the program.

In taekwondo, the first we use to start is called poomsea, which happens to be the form of taekwondo, and demo, breaking the plank, and so on. The last thing we do is fight. That causes another argument entirely. Well I was just looking at them all. My own is that my students will fight. They all later agreed to one, so the competition starts immediately.

IMG_4070.JPG

The first thing we did was weigh-in. We started from the male categories. Their weight started from -58k to heavy weight. Well, you will fall into any category due to where you belong. We did the female categories the same way.

The competition started fully, and I was tensed because I don't want my students to lose. I did all I could to tell my athletes how to do it. Funny enough, my first athletes did so well. There is this person I think might not be able to do well, but then I was surprised at how well he did.

IMG_2071.jpeg

In male categories, I presented three males, and we have one gold and two silver. In female categories I only presented one lady; well, if you ask me, I'm so confident in her because she has been training before. She also took gold. Just as what I was expecting.
So to cut the long story short, in taekwondo we took two gold and two silver medals.

Unfortunately in judo, their athletes refused to come, which is automatically walking over. So the four athletes I took for judo came back with for gold. So in total we had six gold and two silver.
Believe me, you will never imagine how emotional I was that my students could come out in flying color. After the whole competition, I was happy, but we can't travel back because it was so late. So we all stayed till the next day. We all took 75 percent of the medals in all the games we participated in. Till next time, I will tell us about the journey.
Thanks for stopping by. Have a nice day.

All images are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments