My entry to today's Monomad Challenge, The Monochromatic Squirrel.

The walks in the park are more and more interesting, every day I discover new and impressive things, and although sometimes the unplanned but candid photography I do does not impress others much, the truth is that I am very satisfied with the results I get, photography is a way of expression but it is also my way to forget about the problems and to free my mind.

I don't change lenses as often as I did when I first started in photography, back then I was overcome with anxiety and couldn't leave home without everything I had available, my classic 50mm, 24mm and the 55-250mm zoom lens, even the 18-55mm took its place in the backpack.

But time has passed and I want to think that I have advanced and improved, especially when making decisions since now I only go out with one lens on the camera and that's it, I set goals and say: today the pictures will be birds, insects or detail shots, then I go out with the 55-250mm, other times I say I want landscape pictures and the 24mm or even the kit lens becomes the chosen one, by the way I have a couple of pictures with the 15-45mm lens of my Canon M50 that I want to show but in another post.

Other times the 50mm is the lens of choice because of its large aperture, so when the photographs will be more about portraits or in low light conditions that is the lens of choice, although I never show portraits here, when I do portraits they are always paid jobs and I prefer to keep those jobs away from everything else.

Well, the other day I went out looking for bird pictures and a squirrel crossed my path, the truth is that I had been waiting for days for the opportunity to take pictures of it, and since the lens was the right one I didn't miss the opportunity, although to be honest the lighting was not the best and I had to let the ISO go up too high, but it was worth every single image.

ardilla_0005.jpg

The secret with squirrels is that they are addicted, they go into ecstasy when they like something whether it is food or caresses, they become unaware of what is going on around them, so taking advantage of that knowledge I did my best to get as close as possible and get the best shot to share with you.

ardilla_0001.jpg

ardilla_0002.jpg

ardilla_0003.jpg

ardilla_0004.jpg

ardilla_0006.jpg

ardilla_0007.jpg

ardilla_0008.jpg

There's probably nothing impressive about watching this rodent feed, but it's an experience that will last a long time in my memory, a memory that I thought was good enough to share, and I hope you liked it as much as I did, see you in another post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments