The process of how I have grown some sac potatoes and they are flourishing

Hello Passionate Homesteaders

IMG-20240818-WA0005.jpg

What started like an experiment for me here is now becoming a reality. My potatoes I planted in sack have survived the transplanting into and are now flourishing and growing well.

I have planted these potatoes exactly on the 7th of August after we got some stems from a friend's garden to plant some in sacks in my compound here. There is no much of a fertile soil for my gardening and homestead activities, couples with the fact that this place is a potential flood area I am been cautious of planting anything in the ground directly. Having gotten inspiration that I can try this I have gone ahead and planted these potatoes.

IMG-20240818-WA0018.jpg

Filling sacks with soil

IMG-20240818-WA0009.jpg

Cutting and sizing potato stems to be planted in sacs

IMG-20240818-WA0020.jpg

We filled small sacks with some quantity of soil, got them well watered and cut the stems into smaller bits, next I went ahead to plant the potatoes inside the sacks.
Today makes it exactly 10days these potatoes were planted and you can see the progress by yourself here.

IMG-20240818-WA0002.jpg

The stems have put out new leaves within that short period and they are growing in length as well.

IMG-20240818-WA0005.jpg

I was more than surprised because just the same way we transplant other crops like rice and they would still be adjusting to the field within the period, these potatoes have used a lesser time to germinate and get used to the new environment

IMG-20240818-WA0001.jpg

Although I lost some of the planted stems, instead of surviving the dried off and got rotten. I have been speculating that I must have most likely planted them planted them the wrong way since there was a special direction in which I was meant to insert the stems into the ground.

IMG-20240818-WA0009.jpg

The stems that were brought for planting spent some days at home before I had the opportunity to attend to them, the leaves were already rotten from all the stems but I found some viable stems and selected a few to plant.

It is very important to be well prepared and plant your seeds when necessary as leaving some seeds in any unfavorable state before planting them can cause them not to survive or germinate after planting/transplanting. I was quite lucky here that a good number of my seeds germinated.

IMG-20240818-WA0002.jpg

I have quite a number of sacks with potatoes growing in them and since it is within the compound we wet them very much often like the veggies.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments