Two Series, A Revenge Focus - Series Review

Last week felt a bit shorter for me because I was busy with these series, no breaks. I started the next one after I was done with the first and right now, I'm seeing another which I'm yet to finish. I've been feeling like this month is running too slowly but with the series I've been engrossed with, it doesn't feel much that way.

I must say the Korean movie industry is doing better by every new release, there is always going to be the worse and not so good releases but there are a lot more good ones and I'm lucky they found their way to my watchlist. I'll be reviewing two of them and it is because they both have one thing that's similar although the storylines are very different.

High school return of a gangster and Perfect marriage revenge are both short Korean drama (8 and 12 episodes respectively) that focuses on "Revenge" in their storyline but let's get a little deep into each of them.

High School Return Of A Gangster

MV5BM2FjYzRlNjYtZjJjNi00NTc2LTgzNmMtN2I0MGRjYTIzMDg1XkEyXkFqcGc@._V1_.jpg
Image from Imdb

When I got the title of this series from a friend who recommended it to me, I knew it was definitely going to be about revenge but I couldn't tell how they will play it out so I was excited about seeing it. As expected, they didn't fail to bring in a refreshing storyline for one more revenge.

A bit of the storyline goes like this... A second ranking gangster who is eager to learn and have a school certificate had a bad day and took a ride out, he found a school boy about to take his life. The gangster in an attempt to save the boy got his spirit switched to the boy and the gangster lost his body to death on the spot there. His spirit wakes up in the body of the school boy he tried to save. He is made to live as the boy who turned out to be a victim of bullying, he decided to change things in the gangster way.

The revenge aspect isn't as the other revenge series I've seen but I like how satisfying they made sure their viewers felt at the end of everything... Who would have thought gangsters would be loved so much instead? Or have I been the one thinking gangsters are always bad? Lol.

Well, I'll recommend you see this series for what it is about. Especially if you want to have satisfying ending, this is one of them.

Perfect Marriage Revenge

MV5BNGUwNDlkZDItYjA0YS00ZGI0LTk0OGItMDFmZTYwNzc5YjYxXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMjQ2OTU4Mjg@._V1_.jpg
Image from Imdb

This one has the revenge written clearly on the title and maybe that made the revenge plans and success through the storyline more intense, I enjoyed every bit of it. How can a revenge be so fun? Well, the writer made sure of that with the story and it worked.

The male lead drew me in but I fell for the female lead because she took up her role in the most perfect way, her acting and the revenge moves were all so on point that any viewer would love and support the one carrying it out.

A bit of the storyline goes like this... A young lady who has been maltreated and deceived all her life dies in an accident just when she found out about it, she wishes for a second chance and surprisingly, it was granted to her. She goes back a year before her marriage and decided to change things by marrying someone else who was richer and a good threat to her evil step mother and sister.

Did she succeed with her revenge? Did she go back to the present to see things have changed after her revenge? You'll have to check it out to find out.

There are lots of lessons to learn from both series but most importantly, it is the satisfying ends that they both have that every viewer would love about them most. I've been betrayed with revenge focused series a lot, they almost never end well so this was different for me.

I'll give same rating (9/10) to both series but they are unique in their own way and highly recommended, do check them out.

20240101_094050_0000.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now