The Tennessee Meetup Begins! Much fun with @enginewitty and some cute kids.

The actual Tennessee Steemit meetup isn’t until May 19th, but @enginewitty and I got together at a park today, with our collective clan of children. I have twin boys, he has three adorable girls. We had a ton of fun!

K-E hat selfie 1.JPG

Of course, we had to get some #haturday pics. Yes, @saffisara, I gave him a hug for you. (I just forgot to tell him one of those hugs was yours... I'll try again next time.)

@enginewitty is one of my favourite people, and I’ve SO been looking forward to actually meeting him.

For those of you who don’t know who he is, this guy is a witness, founded @thealliance, belongs to just about every community I jump into on discord, and is known for his generosity. He’s also a poet, does a wicked spoken word, is otherwise talented in myriad ways, and is all-around supportive as heck.

If you haven’t voted for @enginewitty as witness yet, do so!


An adventure with two Steemians and five kids.


This afternoon I packed the kids in the car, programmed the address into the GPS, and cranked up some Tom Petty. Gorgeous drive. The kids had a nap on the way.

An hour later, I pulled into a park and finally got to give Engine a hug! He was wearing a sweet pirate shirt he got from @dreemsteem. Loved it!

With five kids in tow, the playground was the first stop. Now, I usually don’t post pics of my kids, but I’ll make an exception for this one. Here are Ryan and Zachary, stoked to discover a new place to play!

bridge.JPG

rope.JPG

Everyone got too hot, so we went down to the creek. It felt so good to take off my shoes and walk in the water!

My kids had a blast. And here’s Engine with the whole crew.

kids playing in the creek.JPG

Of course, he and I had the broken conversations you have when you’re watching kids. Half a sentence here, a few exchanges there. But still, so worthwhile.

We played in the shade by the creek for a while, then moved on to the fountain.

Hooboy, was that fun! The day was HOT and the water felt great.

fountain1.JPG

So then the children were sopping wet. And Engine had no extra clothes for his kids, lol! I overpack for everything, which worked out awesome.

Freya, his youngest, didn’t seem to mind her wet clothes, as I don’t think she was quite as soaked as the others, but I had an extra pair of pants for Khaldessi, who is about the same age as my boys. In fact, someone asked if they were triplets! I said no, thank goodness. I saw a triplet mama the other day. Made my twins look easy. Twins are not easy. I don’t think kids are in general, but I digress.

Luna, @enginewitty’s eldest daughter, got to wear my crane shirt. She seemed to like it.

I straight up mothered the whole crew, actually. Totally enjoyed it. ;)

So then we went over to the trains.

train1.JPG

train2.JPG

Ryan and Zachary loved this, but they loved the whole day, and especially making friends with Engine’s girls.

After playing at the trains for a while, we headed back to the park, where Luna decided she wanted to try on my hat. She looks good in my crane shirt, too, eh?

luna in my hat.JPG

She’s freaking adorable! They all are. And I got hugs from those girls, it was super special.

luna hat switch1.JPG

Okay, last pic, here’s me and @enginewitty after Luna switched our hats.

hat switch2.JPG

You look good in my hat, my friend. ;)

I can’t even describe how delightful this day was.

My heart is all aglow, and I’m still grinning. I know @meanmommy33 and @redrica just met up in Copenhagen, and I can relate to the kind of friendship and grins seen in the photos they posted.

Engine and I are planning another gettogether this weekend, which I’m looking forward to in a big way. I also get to shoot a Hots or Shots show with @jonny-clearwater on Monday! And next weekend a whole host of awesome Steemians will be coming together. I’m so excited!

Have you met up with fellow Steemians? Tell me about it, would you please?

Yay for meeting amazing people!

Thanks for reading!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
(all pics mine unless otherwise credited)


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner by @PegasusPhysics

the alliance
Banner by @bearone

Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center