Sofia's fears: balloons and balls [Eng - Spa]

It was a big surprise for me to learn that Sofia was afraid of toys that are normally the joy of children. I didn't know what to do that afternoon when I realized it. I remember coming in tired from shopping for a few things for my daughter's birthday.

I was very excited because I was going to show her a balloon for the first time. I inflated it and took it to her, but when she saw that yellow sphere, her little eyes showed deep terror. She hid behind her grandmother and started crying. She didn't want to go near it and for a moment I froze, wondering what I was going to do with the hundred balloons I had bought for her party.

Balloons and balls

A few days later we found out that she was not only afraid of balloons but of balls as well. It was something else to add to her list of fears. For a moment I questioned myself as a mother and wondered how I had raised a baby full of fears. I didn't know if I had done something wrong. I consulted with others and many assumed that she had had a previous bad experience. When they saw that my answer was negative, they were thoughtful and didn't know what to say.

Separador.png

It was a process of a month and a half for her to get used to them and start to lose the fear of them. At first, we didn't know how to do it and we started to investigate how we could help her, but we didn't dare to do anything, for fear of making the situation worse. But the solution came to us unexpectedly by a curious coincidence.

When we went to the meeting to arrange the cake and sweets for Sofia's birthday; after paying and giving certain specifications, I inadvertently mentioned my daughter's problem. I was astonished to learn that the lady, before starting her cake business, had a degree in preschool. She had experience with these growing fears and gave us some advice.

Made good candy and gave good advice.

She told me that although my daughter's fear was uncommon, she could try with balloons and balls small enough for her little hands to grasp. The balloons should be filled with flour or water so that she would perceive the changes in the balloon and gradually lose her fear.

Separador.png

I must confess that I had my doubts at first, but I decided to give it a try since my daughter started to react positively to small balls naturally. So I filled a balloon with water and placed it while bathing her in the tub.

Experimenting with balloons

I continued to do this frequently but without pressuring her. If I saw her uncomfortable I would remove it, but I would not give up. Weeks went by and she gradually got used to the sound and texture of the balloon. We did the same process with the balls but with this toy, everything went faster. While she was just getting used to the balloon, she was already playing with the small balls. This gave us a lot of encouragement to continue with the exercises.

Separador.png

Sofia is now able to be in a place decorated with balloons without running away; we were able to decorate her birthday with them and enjoy the celebration without any problem in this area. She even plays with them sometimes, but as there are still times when she is scared or reserved when they are offered to her to play with, we continue to help her so that she can overcome her fear as soon as possible. Progress has been significant and we are happy about that, but there is still a long way to go.

In the meantime, we are happy to see her playing with the balls and that she is no longer afraid of any of them. She hops, jumps, and gets excited to hold one in her hands. She is also learning to kick them because we play soccer with her and her excitement when we chant "goal" is great.

Sofía playing with her ball

Made by me on Canva

With this experience, I concluded that dealing with children's fears can be challenging. I know there is a chance that Sofia will experience some childhood fear again because fear is something inevitable; but I will be there for her God willing, accompanying her, loving her, and giving her all the support she may need.

Separador.png

I hope you liked my publication, you can leave your comments and suggestions at the end of this post. A big hug and see you next time.


Spanish


Los miedos de Sofía: Globos y pelotas

Fue una gran sorpresa para mí enterarme que Sofía tenía miedo a juguetes que normalmente son la alegría de los niños. No sabía que hacer aquella tarde cuando me di cuenta. Recuerdo haber llegado cansada de comprar algunas cosas para el cumpleaños de mi hija.

Estaba muy emocionada porque le enseñaría un globo por primera vez. Lo inflé y se lo llevé, pero al ver aquella esfera amarilla, sus ojitos mostraron un profundo terror. Se escondió detrás de su abuela y comenzó a llorar. No quería ni acercársele y por un momento quedé congelada pensando que iba a hacer con los cien globos que había comprado para su fiesta.

Unos días después descubrimos que no solo le tenía miedo a las globos si no a las pelotas también. Era algo más que añadir a su lista de miedos. Por un momento me cuestioné como madre y me pregunté como había podido criar a una bebé llena de temores. No sabía si había hecho algo mal. Lo consulté con otras personas y muchos asumieron que ella había tenido una mala experiencia previa. Al ver que mi respuesta era negativa quedaban pensativos y sin saber que decir.

Separador.png

Fue un proceso de un mes y medio para que ella se acostumbrara a ellos y empezara a perderles miedo. Al principio no sabíamos como hacerlo y empezamos investigar como podríamos ayudarla, pero no nos atrevíamos a nada, por miedo a empeorar la situación. Pero la solución vino a nosotros inesperadamente por una curiosa coincidencia.

Cuando fuimos a la reunión para cuadrar la torta y los dulces del cumpleaños de Sofía; después de pagar y dar ciertas especificaciones, sin querer mencioné el problema de mi hija. Mi asombro fue grande al saber que la señora antes de iniciar su negocio de tortas, ejercía su licenciatura en el área de preescolar. Ella tenía experiencia con estos miedos del crecimiento y nos dio algunos consejos.

Sofía enfrentando sus temores

Ella me dijo que si bien el miedo de mi hija era poco común, podía intentar con globos y pelotas lo suficientemente pequeños para que lo agarraran su manitas. Los globos debía llenarlos con harina o agua para que ella percibiera los cambios en el globo y así poco a poco le perdería el miedo.

Separador.png

Debo confesar que tuve mis dudas al principio, pero decidí intentarlo ya que mi hija empezó a reaccionar de manera positiva a las pelotas pequeñas de manera natural. Así que llené un globo con agua y lo colocaba mientras la bañaba en la bañera.

Seguí haciéndolo con frecuencia pero sin presionarla. Si la veía incómoda lo quitaba, pero no me daba por vencida. Así pasaron las semanas y ella poco a poco fue acostumbrándose al sonido y a la textura del globo. Hicimos el mismo proceso con las pelotas pero con este juguete todo fue más rápido. Mientras ella apenas se acostumbraba al globo, ya jugaba con las pelotas pequeñas. Esto nos llenó de ánimo para poder seguir adelante con los ejercicios.

Separador.png

En la actualidad Sofía ya es capaz de estar en un sitio adornado con globos sin salir huyendo; pudimos adornar su cumpleaños con ellos y disfrutar de la celebración sin problema en este ámbito. Incluso a veces juega con ellos, pero como hay todavía ocasiones en las que se asusta o se ve reservada cuando se los ofrecen para jugar, seguimos ayudándola para que prontamente pueda superar el miedo en su totalidad. Los avances han sido significativos y eso nos contenta, pero todavía queda camino por recorrer.

Mientras tanto nos alegramos de verla jugar con las pelotas y que ya no le tenga miedo a ninguna. Brinca, salta y se emociona al tener una en su manos. También está aprendiendo a patearlas porque nosotros jugamos con ella al fútbol y su emoción cuando cantamos "gol" es muy grande.

Hecho por mi en Canva

Con esta experiencia llegué a la conclusión de que lidiar con los miedos de los niños puede ser todo un reto. Sé que hay posibilidades de que Sofía vuelva experimentar algún miedo en la infancia, porque el temor es algo inevitable; pero estaré ahí para ella Dios mediante, acompañándola, amándola y dándole todo el apoyo que pueda necesitar.

Separador.png

Espero les haya gustado mi publicación, pueden dejar sus comentarios y sugerencias al final de este post. Un fuerte abrazo y hasta la próxima.

Gracias por leer, hecho en Canva pro

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency