55

jasminearch

Jasmine Arch
Curiouser and curiouser
Available
Used
Resource Credits
240 Followers
5 Following
jasminearch
steempress
4y
More Projects on the Horizon
Well, it's been quite a while since I wrote one of these, isn't it? My my, where does all this time go while I'm not looking? I thought I'd put an update here, since I'm brewing up a few more projects.
$ 0.165
15
2
jasminearch
steempress
4y
Announcing Mythsterhood of the Travelling Tales
Within the depths of a great pool of ink, a woman’s voice began to whisper about dragons. Then another. And another. They found each other in the darkness and merged into a single beast to explore their
$ 0.946
28
1
jasminearch
steempress
5y
Women Rock Horror, and Not Just in February
So in case you hadn't noticed, February was Women in Horror Month. We are sorely underrepresented in the genre. We can be so much more than the victim, the scream queen, the set dressing. We are the hero,
$ 1.077
161
3
jasminearch
steempress
5y
It's a Bird! It's a Pod! It's a Pseudo Pod!
For most of my life, I was convinced horror was not for me. The content I came into contact with was almost exclusively through film and TV and the images overflowed my dreams for weeks. When I let friends
$ 2.566
246
jasminearch
steempress
5y
The INKreadables, episode 4: We're Not Afraid of Dragons!
Welcome to the INKreadables, season 1, episode 4. This month, we discuss a 1974 essay by Ursula K. Le Guin, called Why Americans Are Afraid of Dragons. Along for the ride, were Rowena Harding-Smith, who
$ 0.942
35
jasminearch
steempress
5y
Podcast Review: A Must-Listen for Creative Pens
One of the earliest non-fiction podcasts I tuned into was The Creative Penn. It was the ever cheerful voice of Joanna Penn that first introduced me to the many and varied opportunities available to indie
$ 0.871
27
2
jasminearch
steempress
5y
Book Review: The Mark of the Damned
I could never watch a horror film without suffering nightmares for days. Weeks even. Still can’t. And so, for a long time, I thought horror as a genre wasn’t meant for me. But only a few months ago, I
$ 1.973
34
jasminearch
steempress
5y
A Trip Aboard the Flying Castle
As a child, I read all the time. Literally. I remember one Christmas, at my uncle's house. A book-shaped parcel lay under the tree and I just knew it was meant for me. Asking to open the gifts would only
$ 2.635
299
jasminearch
steempress
5y
The Magic of Storytelling
Image courtesy of Bruno Cervera via Unsplash.com Feel free to skip my enthused babble and scroll straight to the bottom if you just want to listen. If you know me at all, you know I love storytelling.
$ 1.667
29
2
jasminearch
steempress
5y
All Hail the Mighty Loon
I don't even remember where I learned about Print Run Podcast. Hosts Erik Hane and Laura Zats became the first weekly whisperers in my ears. Though they hardly whisper. I listened to an episode on the
$ 0.753
146
jasminearch
steempress
5y
Podcast Playlist
Since the start of my journey as a writer, in the autumn of 2017, I've been working hard to grow as a writer and to get some words in every day. Then, we bought a house. A big house with a pasture. An
$ 1.287
25
5
jasminearch
steempress
5y
The Giant's Tomb
I’ve been a bit quiet here, haven’t I? I know. Between the renovations on our house, the dogs, and losing one of the horses, it was all I could do to keep myself writing. A few months ago I started on
$ 1.332
23
4
1
jasminearch
steempress
5y
Letters to Lily, an Epistolary Novella
So, I finished the first draft on this novella and I can't stop screaming. I savoured some celebratory cookie dough ice cream, and I thought I'd share my excitement with all of you while I try to wrap
$ 0.287
23
1
jasminearch
steempress
5y
Narration Debut
For those who want to skip my blabbering and just listen, feel free to scroll down to the bottom of the page. This is old news for some of my friends, I know. But me? I'm still inwardly shrieking with
$ 0.259
23
4
jasminearch
steempress
5y
Spiced Chocolate Cake
Hello, hello! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? My apologies. Demolishing half your house tends to distract a person somewhat. My writing time tends to suffer, and honestly, if I have to choose between poetry,
$ 1.470
42
3
jasminearch
steempress
5y
Book Review: The Crucifixion and Resurrection of Malachi the Queer
I just read the most amazing book, in as close to one sitting as I could possibly manage. Couldn't put it down. Those of you who follow my blog know that Damian is a dear friend of mine. I knew he was
$ 1.652
56
2
1
jasminearch
steempress
6y
Fifty Days of Submissions
At the beginning of the year, I made a resolution to do one hundred submissions in 2019. But really, I thought I'd have to really push myself to get there. Between working full time, taking care of our
$ 1.327
25
jasminearch
steempress
6y
Mask, a Speculative Poem
In May last year, I read my e-mails at work, and my co-workers ran in, wondering why I'd shrieked. That's to say, the men ran in to see if I needed help. The women ran away in case it was because of a
$ 1.211
26
1
jasminearch
steempress
6y
Goodbye, a 50 Word Story
"But--" "No. You've got to go." I looked into her eyes one last time and handed over the bag containing our meager supplies. Enough for Anna to make it out of the desert. Hopefully.
$ 1.284
25
14
2
jasminearch
blog
6y
Metaphor? What For?
How do you recognise good writing? It’s clean, well thought out, and well edited. Now, great writing. That’s another story. Great writing lives and breathes. It grabs you by the neck and drags you down
$ 12.468
515
8
2

Follow, be first to know

Nothing found in blogs.