Not afraid of the dark...or the light

Castle Drogo stands near a place called Drewsteignton, in Devon, England on the northern edge of Dartmoor National Park and has a commanding view over the beautiful Teign Gorge. It's a very interesting place which includes interesting objects and various fascinating collections, lovely gardens and grounds and some incredibly interesting architecture - the latter is unsurprising considering it was designed and the building was overseen by Sir Edwin Lutyens, a renowned architect of the 20th century. Begun in 1911 and completed in 1930, it has a rich and colourful history which I was fortunate to immerse myself in on a personal visit when I was in the UK.

The owner who commissioned the architect was Julius Drewe, an incredibly successful businessman who eventually moved into it, prior to completion in 1925. Unfortunately for the poor chap he was to die only a year after the castle was finally completed; I suppose the good thing is that he got to enjoy his home for a few years at least.

Because I'm not much of a photographer, that is to say I'm not a very good one, my photos are quite sub-optimal however I was looking at some today and decided I'd share some of the colour black and white of Castle Drogo.

bw (3).jpg


bw (4).jpg

This image above is straight off the camera (like all of them) and is my partner standing behind a glass cabinet which holds the glass teardrop thing inside. The reflections on the teardrop are from the windows behind me.


bw (5).jpg

bw (2).jpg

bw (1).jpg

The castle is quite spectacular and no photos (of mine) could ever tell that story. It is, quite simply put magnificently interesting and in my opinion is worthy of the time it takes to get there...and there's the added bonus of the view over the gorge and the Dartmoor National Park itself which is something quite special also. We spent an entire day there wandering the many rooms and interesting things we found there and not least of which is the architecture itself.

The images I have put into this post are just a few off the less bad ones I took and give an indication of what it's all about, although I'd recommend you make the time to visit should you be close by.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Every image in this post is my own

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center