Healing Vibes -- CCC's Street Art Contest #218

Welcome back to another peek into the Street Art scene here in the beautiful and lively Bushwick neighborhood of Brooklyn, New York, USA. Last week, I was inspired by my school's celebration of Hispanic Heritage Month and posted a colorful, playful piece a few blocks away from my school building.

Today's entry to CCC's Street Art Contest #218 is a humorous encouragement to take better care of ourselves by improving the food we eat. The art is found on the side of a building located at a familiar street I have features before, 14 Wilson Avenue. I present to you, "Take Thyme To Heal."

1000023256.jpg

Interestingly, the artist signature in the bottom right says MedicineWalls NYC, so the art piece is definitely giving "let thy food be thy medicine" vibes. I love the play on words with time and the spice thyme, especially in the context of using plant food to heal.

The colors are eye-catching, with the bright pink and yellow lettering grabbing my attention on the walk home from dinner last night. There are a variety of different veggies and herbs in the picture, encouraging us to eat more healthy whole foods.

The art is featured on the side of a building with the storefront facing out on Wilson Avenue. Ironically, the inspirational healing message finds itself on the side of a...

1000023257.jpg

LIQUOR STORE! You can't make this up. A message of healing on the outside of a purveyor of poison. Obviously!

While this isn't the most detailed piece of street art that I've featured, I loved the combination of humor (play on words), inspiration (heal with plants), and irony (next to liquor store). Hopefully you enjoyed this piece of art as well.

Before I get my weekend started and wrap up this post, here's another piece of street art that just missed out on making the cut for my submission. It's only a block away from the first pic, and has a similar Puerto Rican theme to the pic I posted last week.

1000023254.jpg

Tweety Bird is covered head to toe in Puerto Rican drip, while Yosemite Sam is holding up a no parking sign and Bugs Bunny is wearing the world-famous Yankees hat. A nearby tree gave me some trouble with shading the image and a parked car prevented me from taking the picture straight on. Either way, I felt like sharing a bit more than just my single contest entry, so I hope you liked the bonus content. Enjoy your weekend! Until next time...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center