The fort was built on the Trbušnjak hill, often known as the Nehaj hill in 1558, under the supervision of Captain and General of the Croatian Military Border Ivan Lenković and Captain Herbert VIII. Auersperga Turjaškog. For the purpose of the defense of Lenkovic's defense, Lenkovic had finally destroyed all the churches, monasteries and buildings outside the walls of Senj so that they could not attack their enemies.
The fort is today used for tourist purposes, and its peak serves as an excellent viewpoint with a beautiful view of the Croatian Littoral and the islands of Rab, Goli otok, Prvić, Cres, Krk and on the mountains of Učka and Velebit. Also, Nehaj is also the symbol of the city of Senj and is also stylized in the coat of arms of the city.
City Senj