Ice plant helped me to heal my tough skin issue / アイスプラントの力で克服した肌トラブル

I didn’t personally create a cream from natural ingredients to heal my skin issues (which might have been atopic dermatitis), but I think I can share my experience and appreciation to the nature here because the cream made from ice plant's natural extracts worked surprisingly well for me.

Since last year, I’ve had several episodes where the skin around my eyes would become itchy, swollen, and peel off in flakes. Sometimes the symptoms would subside, but whenever they flared up, it was quite stressful. I would wake up each morning checking to see if my skin was peeling, and when going out, I couldn’t help but pick at the peeling skin even though I knew it wasn’t a good idea. I would also find myself hoping that my skin wouldn’t swell or peel before meeting someone.

In Germany, it's especially difficult to get an appointment with a dermatologist, so when my partner's running friend, who happens to be a dermatologist, recommended a cream just by looking at a photo, I tried it. While it did help reduce the symptoms, it didn’t completely cure them. I even considered waiting in line for hours at a dermatologist's office that accepts walk-ins, just to get checked out, despite dreading the possibility of being prescribed something stronger.

Not wanting to go through the ordeal of waiting in line and potentially getting a strong prescription, I decided to try an organic product I’d been curious about for a while: Dr. Hauschka’s Medical Line Ice Plant Skin Cream.

Ice Plant Face Cream, also suitable for atopic dermatitis | Dr. Hauschka

The extract from the ice plant is gentle enough to be used on atopic skin and even on babies, and there wasn’t any warning about avoiding the area around the eyes. I also felt a special connection to the product since I’d been growing ice plants for food on my balcony this year. It was very helpful to have the instructions in English on the website and in the instructions for the cream.

After using the cream for just a few days, my symptoms settled down, and to my amazement, my skin healed smoothly. I haven’t had any flare-ups since then 🙌—it almost makes me wonder what all that stress was about.

Around the same time, I started using the Oura Ring to pay more attention to my rest and sleep, and I was also practicing gratitude after reading the book The Magic. Maybe it was a combination of all three that worked.

Recently, I noticed that my ice plants on the balcony had started flowering. You can find the white flower in the photo on top. Thank you, little plant—your siblings helped heal my skin. I picked a leaf and ate it, enjoying its familiar plump, salty crunch. I think I’ll keep growing them next year as a kind of good luck charm.

It’s incredibly important to see a doctor, of course, but I’m really happy that I was able to heal my skin with the help of a plant I love and an organic skin cream.

~~~

私が直接自然のものを使って、肌荒れ(アトピーだったのかな?)を治すクリームを作ったわけではないのですが、アイスプラントの自然由来の成分を使ったクリームで驚くほどすっきりすんなり治ったので体験を共有したいと思いました。

去年から何度か目の周りがかゆくなって腫れて、ぽろぽろと皮がむけることがありました。症状が落ち着いている時もあるのですが、いったん症状が出ると結構なストレスで、朝起きて皮がむけていないかチェックして、外出するときにはよくないと知りつつ剥がれかけている皮をとってしまったり、人と会うときに腫れないでー皮むけないでーと願ったり。

ドイツでは特に皮膚科の予約は取りにくく、パートナーのランニング仲間の皮膚科のお医者さんが、写真で見てクリームを勧めてくれました。このクリームで寛解はするものの完治せず。朝から並んで数時間待つと診てもらえるかもという皮膚科があることを知り、行こうか迷っていたほどでした。

皮膚科で数時間並ぶのと合わせて、強いクリームを処方されないか憂鬱で、最後にダメ元で以前から気になっていたオーガニックブランド Dr. Hauschka のメディカルラインのアイスプラントのスキンクリームを試してみました。

Ice Plant Face Cream, also suitable for atopic dermatitis | Dr. Hauschka

アイスプラントから抽出した成分はアトピー肌や赤ちゃんの肌にも使えて、よくある目の周りは避けてくださいという注意書きもなく、今年はバルコニーで食用にアイスプラントを育てていてご縁を感じたこともあり。英語での説明がウェブサイトやっ説明書にあってとても助かりました。使って数日で症状が落ち着いて、びっくりするくらいすんなり治りました。再発もなし 🙌 あの落ち着かない日々はなんだったんだのだろうというくらいです。

同じ時期に Oura Ring を使い始めてより休息や睡眠に気を使って、あと The Magic という本を読みつつ、感謝の魔法を実践してみて、実際には三つ合わせて効いたのかもしれません。

久しぶりにバルコニーでアイスプラントに目をやると、冒頭の写真のように白い花をさかせていました。ありがとう、君の兄弟が私の肌荒れを治してくれたんだね。葉っぱを一つもらって食べると、肉厚な葉っぱは相変わらずぷちぷちしょっぱいユニークなおいしさでした。来年もお守り的に育てようっと。

お医者さんに診てもらうのはすごく大事なことなのですが、私は大好きな植物の力、オーガニックのスキンクリームの力を借りて肌荒れが治ったことがとてもうれしいです。

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments