Let’s Crochet A Backless Dress With Different Shades Of Yellow

IMG_6670.jpeg

Hello everyone, I’m so excited. I know you can feel it in my post. It’s been about one month 11 days since I started working on my dress. It’s been one long ride. The goal was to make use of my yellow leftover yarns. I always wanted to make a dress but then when I realized I could bring all of them together and make something cool, I went straightforward for it.

Most of the time was spent on the color coordination of the yarn. I wanted to get a perfect result so I made sure to invest so much time into choosing the right shade of yellow from the leftover yarns. I want to say a big thank you to @valchiz for helping me with the colour combination.

Materials I used:
• Leftover yarns of different yellow shades
• 1.60mm crochet hook
• measuring tape

IMG_5608.jpeg

I started sorting out the yarns on the 19th of April. I chose all the colours that I thought was cool to work with and then I started making the upper part of the top. I crocheted the upper part of the top starting with the measurement of my shoulder to shoulder which is 12 and Continued to my bust which is 32. I continued this and when I was about to reach the waist, I reduced the measurement to find a way to look normal around my waist which is 26.
I finished this part on 7th May.

IMG_5752.jpeg

On the 8th of May, I continued making the flare which was the most time consuming part. To make the flare, I made two double crochets in each stitch.

IMG_5753.jpeg

I moved on to the back part on the 30th of May which was also a struggle on it own. Since I wanted to make it a backless dress, I had to create the straps that the ruffle hands of the dress will be attached. So I made the straps and attached it to the back of the dress.

IMG_6676.jpeg

For the ruffle hands, I made single crochet in every stitch around the armhole and the started making two double crochets in each stitch but separated by a chain. I kept on building this till I reached the desired length for the hand. I continued making the lower back part which was flare too. I made two double crochet in each stitch after making a chain stitch as the base since it was going to be backless.
I kept on building this each day till the 5th of June when I realized I made a mistake.

IMG_6675.jpeg

So I had to unravel so much and I almost cried but I didn’t though( that’s how much patience I have for crocheting). Right after undoing it, I continued working on the lower back until 9th of May when I finished it and now used a slip stitch to join the front and back together.

IMG_6673.jpeg

The result

IMG_6658.jpegIMG_6586.jpeg IMG_6559.jpegIMG_6611.jpegIMG_6558.jpegIMG_6562.jpeg

I later realized the back was too bare so I tried lacing it but then it wasn’t as I wanted it so I’ll ask my mom to help me out or I’ll just wear it to the appropriate place: the beach.

IMG_6674.jpeg

As I Said, this took me 1 month 11 days to finish and I’m so glad I didn’t stop. I know it might look like baby’s dress but that’s because of the camera angle.
I really really like the result. I feel like this is my best work ever since I became a crocheter about 14 years ago. Thank you so much for your time and I hope you like it.

All images are mine
All grids were made with photogrid

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
58 Comments