Climate Chaos

I laugh when I hear people say they don’t believe in climate change. Well, that’s fine and personally, I am fine with it too as long as they can explain what’s happening. Take mic and explain why the clouds could gather and the weather would change and then not even a drop of rain will sneak onto the earth.

Tell us how we could go months in rainy season feeling hotter than fire. Tell us why we’re experiencing harmattan in June. And while you’re still at it, increase the volume for those at the back and explain why it could rain so much and even cause floods and displacement in dry seasons.

Anytime I hear the prices of foodstuff I get sad because they just remind of my time in school. Those days? Come on! You could spend just 50 cedis to cook for a month and I’m not even playing. Now? No amount below 500 cedis can get you foodstuff for more than a week. I’m not even shocked people have done food formation, going on 1 0 1 and the others.

Some of us even just have to eat three times a week because of what’s going on. I know @yahuzah will call me a liar but it’s true. It’s just that my online settings is strong and that makes people believe that I’m rich ( I mean yeah, I’m kind of rich though, I have mansions in Heaven, stop playing)

Anyway, the variability in rainfall is just crazy and has really affected farm produce. Farmers prepare their farms for rains and they never experience it. When they do, they experience serious floods too. It’s just a whole lot. You know the funny thing? It’s as if our stomachs are not aware of what’s going on. Right after eating, you suddenly feel some unnecessary hunger again. It’s either you get yourself busy or just eat all your monthly food in a week.

In as much as I’m tempted to blame everyone for their actions, I feel like food vendors even just overdo things. How can you tell me this cassava that doesnt even look pretty is 100cedis? When you know deep down you’ve actually overpriced it and then when I ask you for reduction, you tell me “oh customer, rain doesn’t come again oh”

At this point, one of the smartest things you can do is to have some basic food plants around your house or small garden at home. Either cassava, plantain or pepper. At home, we have plantain trees all around us. There’s literally no space left in the compound and that has really helped us a lot because the prices of plantain are not friendly at all.

People are not even ready to believe that what is happening is as a result of climate change which is partly caused by anthropogenic factors. Which eventually mean people won’t change from their ways so the best you can do is to take care of yourself and do the right things in your community.

images are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments