Meet Frank



Every holiday I typically 3D print something for family and friends. This Halloween I found a new model I love and I've already printed three of them in the last 24 hours.

If you are into 3D printing, you can find the model here for free!

While my printer can print this in one pass, the model is carefully created to be able to print in pieces and be put together to form this majestic monster standing almost 7" tall. All without glue and can be assembled in about three minutes after printing.

The model is broken up into five plates, one for each color required for the model. The first plate I printed was black and it included the hair, shirt, belt, and shoes.

This step took just under two hours, and used about 55g of filament. A single spool of filament is 1000kg (~2.2lbs) and typically costs $10-30.

After this, I started to print the greens, which is the head, arms, and a small piece for the chest.

I accidentally had supports turned on, which are not required for this model. This uses more material and time but allows for printing easier across midair gaps. This model is so well done you don't need supports, but they will not hurt.

This step is a little quicker and takes just over 1.5 hours.

The next step is white, which is just two small pieces for the eyes. I forgot to snap a picture, but here is a screenshot from inside of the slicer showing it on the build plate.

This step is very quick only taking about 15 minutes.

At this point, I have enough to assembly the head, without the bolts. I didn't quite have the hair lined up though in this photo.

The next step is grey which will cover his body, pants, and arms as well as a couple hidden pieces to lock the legs in place.

This is the largest set, and takes almost 3 hours to print. I noticed I started to get some layer issues, so I will need to adjust the belts and tune the printer when I get a chance. This is mostly shown due to the lighting and angle, in person you can barely see them, but I would like to deal with that anyway.

This step took almost 100g of filament, or roughly 1/10th of a spool. Seeing as I get filament for around $11.50 a spool typically, this puts the cost at around $1.10 for these pieces.

The final step is the bolts, I didn't take a picture here either, but I made these in a space silver I had for another project.

This step is pretty quick just under 20 minutes and only 3g of filament.

This puts the totals at:

  • Print Time: 6 hours 41 minutes
  • Filament: 204g
  • Cost: $2.45

To get an idea on how this is put together, you can see the instructions from the creator.



The legs are particularly clever, there is a cross pattern in the bottom half, and two plates slide through holes in the legs to lock them in, then a cross is put in place above them to keep them in place. It all just fits together without any glue, although I ended up super gluing the bolts as they would fall out if you moved it around. The rest fit perfectly and required no glue at all.

Another Halloween print I made for my wife's collection.

The same creator has a Deadpool model I am most definitely going to have to print, although this one is not freely available and requires you to sign up for his monthly membership.

The title image, directions, and deadpool are images from the creators model page and are not my prints.


Why you should vote me as witness

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center