Mystic Girl: Making of a 3D Bust

Titlepic_new.png

title_font.png

in my last post I mentioned, that I wanted to continue the work on my Maiko-Sculpt, but life is getting in the way - looking for apartments, getting rid of stuff I hoarded all these years (!) and to mix things up a short trip to New Orleans, but this means new content for my page, which I want to share soon:) I still have to learn how to balance my time better, but enough with the blabla!:) A loooooooong time ago I saw the style challenge by @w0olf, where you could choose inter alia Gustav Klimt. You can check out the winners and some of the other posts here. It‘s a few months ago and I actually had the sculpt of the model after a few hours, but I just wanted a finished model this time and then eeeverything was pushed far back behind. If you‘re interested in the making of, stay tuned. I used Blender, Photoshop, Poliigon for the texture of the jewelry and rendered some frames in SheepIt!

concept_title.png

concept.gif

I love the Golden Phase by Gustav Klimt. The beautiful (abstract) patterns and the way he portrayed his paintings in total, creating a "total work of art" by also concentrating in the details.
I wanted to create a character leaned on the way he portrays women. So I came up with the idea of a nude bust, giving my character a very slender look and an unusual hairstyle, but also trying to keep her sensual and strong. I didn‘t focus on the background and decided to choose a bright flower backdrop, which was a postcard I found, while clearing up my stuff:)

sculpt_girl.gif

I started with a cube and deformed it into a rough silhouette of my character. Here is where I sculpted the model bit by bit, until I was satisfied with the look and added a particle system for creating hair. I rather change things up while sculpting and modeling and usually don‘t finish a part and then create something new like jewelry or other details.
So I kind of constantly change the model a bit, which you can see in the gif.

retopo_title.png

retopo.png

In order to texture the model, I had to give the model a new topology (=retopologize it), otherwise Blender would have crashed instantly. This is my least favorite part, because it‘s time consuming & here is where I first stopped the project for a while. Sometimes I switch to Zbrush and use the ZRemesher if I am lazy, but I just wanted to do it right and create this model only using Blender. I used a modifier to create the wireframe to showcase the retopo.

texturing_title.png

texturing.gif

texturing.png

As usual, deciding how to texture my models are always a bit difficult for me even with a colored concept. I exaggerated the look a bit more, while sculpting, so in the end I wanted to try out different looks. As you can see, the first texture is still very raw, then I started changing up the model a bit, which you can see with the eyes, because it always looks different in color. I added details like the texture of the jewelry and at the end just tried out looks. I like the grey pink hair/light green eyes version the most....maybe because I am thinking about coloring my hair rusty light pink :D In the end I decided to stick with the concept et voilà- the model is textured and the last step is setting up the final light for the title render.

render_title.png

render.gif

Here you can see different settings in lighting the model and in the last two renders, I added an armature (= skeleton) just for the body and the neck, to change the pose.
It was quite a challenge for me to create the short hairstyle and stick to the concept. I hope you like the result and I will be participating in a few contests and then finally update the Maiko model. ;)


Here are some of my other 3D posts: Dapper-Owl Gramophone Animation | Charlie Lou, the Alligator | Surfer Girl Animation

Thanks for reading!
xxx
.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now