Xaya Update - Maybe A Hive Companion?

A couple weeks ago I wrote about a lot of different crypto platforms I've considered using to make dapps and games. One of them was Xaya, a blockchain for games. My sort of review of the platform mentioned some things I didn't like, including that it was built on Namecoin, a fork of Bitcoin and all the baggage that comes with. I also mentioned the core gaming parts were said to be blockchain agnostic so they may update in the future.

Well, the future is now! In an article on medium they detailed how they have released Xaya X. They didn't just swap out the blockchain to something better, the core still uses Namecoin. However, with Xaya X they did one better! The library now can be used with any blockchain. Making it not only agnostic but cross-compatible. This is pretty awesome.

I haven't checked it out so much yet. But from the sounds of it you'll be able to code an interface to Xaya X from any blockchain you want. They are already working on doing it with Polygon. Of course, this means there is still work to be done if they don't have bridge code already for the blockchain you want to use, but still. This is a pretty big update!

Obviously my thought is perhaps using Hive as the blockchain and Xaya as the server layer to a game would make decentralizing a game much better and easier now. Something I'll eventually check out if I can get some time.

Anyway... just thought I'd post an update and share that article in case any of the few that read my last post about Xaya were interested.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency