A poem I wrote in my days of substance abuse and depression

I found this poem along with some other texts I wrote when I was a dark place. Years have passed and things are looking good for me now. No more drugs and less psychological hardship (although my OCD is still prominent). I have a nice place to live, a caring girlfriend and I'm starting my master's degree this fall, which is why I feel confident with these words leaving my notebook and traveling into the world. Thank you for reading, Steemit.


photo IMG_4651.jpg

Photo I took around the same time I wrote this poem.

House of Mirth

shrink, shrink my problems

swallow my pride, my being

my lust for breathing

this state has no law

no power to immerse

no crime to commit

senselessness, nothingness


burst my bubble, for it is only an illusion

soap can't wash away cleanliness

defect at birth, repaired by night

new dawn, more numbness


reflected in darkness

the soul stands forth

bring your lightbulbs

illuminate the void

leave this place

before it devours us

consumes us, replaces us


blow me a bubble, for it is the last of its kind

one in seven billion

defect at birth, broken by night

no dawn, no numbness


- Kent

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now