Plotting, Planning, and Writing Again!

kaelci writing new book header image hive blog peakd.jpg

An idea has formed.

It formed so much that yesterday I opened Scrivener and started plotting and planning and daydreaming. Furthermore, it seemed so writeable that today I trawled premade bookcovers until I found something perfect and bought it without a thought.

I'm backwards like that.

I find writing a book so much easier once I have a suitable cover for it. I guess it's an incentive in a way. "I spent money on this already so I'd better write, finish, and publish it."

worldmeld_postsize_wip1.jpg

The title is not set in stone, neither are the fonts used. But I love that image and it suits the story in my head perfectly; it was like it was made specifically for my story. That's fate, right there.

😁😁😁

So, what's the story?

In past posts I've spoken of a story that's been in my head since I was a child and how that particular story evolved over the decades to become the Forgotten Prophecy series that I'm working on. How the first iteration of the story was so farfetched and fanciful that I'd prefer just keep it for myself.

That's changed.

I want to share it. And I've worked out a way to do that so it's not as fanciful and one-dimensional and Mary-Sue as it once was.

AND!

Was it last year or the year before? I think it was the year before. In 2019 I convinced the @freewritehouse to host another NaNoWriMo style thing, whilst still excited from my success during 2018's actual NaNoWriMo, and I started writing this weird-arse story about two guys named Henry and Sebastian.

As with everything, I keep every word that I write. Despite the fact that I hated that story so much. Henry was a whiny turdface and I couldn't stand writing him. So. I stopped.

Now... I'm bringing them back! Might have to force Henry to have a slight personality change so I can deal with him, but Sebastian is still going to be his happy-go-lucky self. Always liked Sebby, it was just Henry ruining everything.

Yes. I'm babbling...

So the story itself?

 

lnr.png

Alexandria is a young woman neglected from birth, abused by those who are meant to love her, and blessed by a powerful being from another realm. Desperate to find refuge in the other realm, she performs ritual after ritual in an attempt to free herself only to unintentionally fulfill the powerful being's secret desire -- to meld the two realms into one that he can rule over.

Chaos ensues. In the short span of ten years the world becomes overgrown, apocalyptic, and nothing is as it once was.

Henry and Sebastian are friends pulled into the madness, their every abhorrent action a method of ensuring their daily survival, and seek their own escape from this new life they reprehend and did not wish for. Forging terms for an escape ends in deceit, separating the men from one another and forcing them to find their own paths; Sebastian a thrall under orders to "rebalance" power and Henry an ally to bush creatures once believed myth.

Can Sebastian bring balance to the chaos or will he bring further ruin to the world? Is it possible for Alexandria and her Demon to be overthrown? Will Henry ever find his friend again?*

*Not an actual blurb, but gives the gist.

I guess we shall soon find out!

lnr.png

 
As always, I'm planning on blockchain-publishing this story as I go to read possible criticism and opinions, then I will edit and add to it privately before publishing on Amazon and elsewhere. 😁

I always bitch about Amazon and their Amazon Exclusive thing, but I'll inevitably do it again for a hopeful-but-unlikely handful of Kindle Unlimited readers. Who knows.

Anyway!

In the immortal words of Big Kev, may he rest in peace, "I'M EXCITED!"

It's time to start writing again. 😊

 

Look out for the first chapter in the near future!

 


 

All image rights are mine, book cover designed by Daniela.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency