Return ...Part 6 ...Out of My Depth



I see everything as in a dark mirror, through smoked glass. I see us moving about blindly in eternal Gloom, like May bugs trapped in a box by a cruel child. It's easy to harm and injure us, to smash up our intricately assembled, bizarre existence. I interpret everything as abnormal, terrible and threatening and see nothing but Catastrophes. But if this is the beginning, can we possibly fall even lower?
― Olga Tokarczuk




Ange 2.jpg
Seer



I was with Angelica Sara in her penthouse apartment trying to make sense of how she came back into my life but had few answers and lots of questions. The whole situation seemed too improbable to be a coincidence, yet here we were.

"Do you have any idea why Fate brought us back together?" I asked.

She frowned and paused trying to form an answer I suppose that seemed plausible.

"I think it's because we have a spiritual connection, Zach and the fact that you're a newspaper reporter― that seems important."

"So, you don't really know either why we've been reunited after all these years."

The frown creased her forehead again. "I have an inkling―it's yet to be determined."



Great―just great! I muse inside my head.

The events of the past few days have been perplexing and I hate that―it plays into the sense of dread I've been experiencing that led to my night terrors and my vision of the Basilisk.

I don't want to ever experience the horror again of that huge foul creature reminiscent of a dragon. The circumstances were demonic and just thinking about it makes me nauseous and causes me to panic.

Angelica sees the change in my features. "You're agitated and upset, Zach. Are you having a panic attack?"

"Something like that―I've been having night terrors lately and my whole life seems at sixes and sevens."

She bites her lip and gazes out at storm clouds over the harbour. "I'm probably not helping. The circumstances surrounding our meeting have been mysterious and probably are adding to your anxiety. I'm sorry."



She seemed genuinely concerned she was the source of my discomfort, but the truth was, it was more than that―this sense of impending doom had been building inside me for some time now and meeting her again just added to the surreal aspect of what was happening to me.

"If it helps, I feel it too," she says suddenly.

"What do you feel?" I ask suspiciously.

"Something bad is about to happen. But I have no idea what it is."

"Well, that's a consolation," I grunt in agitation.



I was taking out my mood on her but honestly, being told she shared my fear didn't help, but made the situation that much worse.

If I were the only one experiencing this dread I could put it down to a case of depression or some unresolved conflict inside me that was causing my upset. But the fact she felt it too meant it wasn't just a subjective fear on my part.

The aura of romance between us had only temporarily lightened my angst and made me see our relationship in terms of soulmates―twin flames separated but reunited again by fate.

But this was something bigger and more somber―its implications seemed broader and deeper than our personal relationship and that was what concerned me.



"I'm scared, Zach," she confided and looked as if she were on the verge of tears.

Without thinking, I reached out and held her in my arms―it felt right―natural and spontaneous.

She stared at me with tears in her eyes, "I'm usually in control of my intuitions, but what's happening is vast and totally beyond my perceptions."

I nodded mutely. I felt it too―a sense of helpless despair that events were about to unfold that were global, if not cosmic, in their dimensions.



To be continued…


© 2021, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency