Return ...Part 16 ...Delicate Diplomacy



Nothing in the world is harder than convincing
someone of an unfamiliar truth.

― Patrick Rothfuss




the-dance-of-life-1899-edvard-munch.jpg
Dance of Life



There's nothing worse than betwixt and between―where I was with Brooke and Angelica, torn between two beautiful women.

I knew most men would kill to be in my position, but, for me, it was torture.

Last thing I wanted was to toy with either woman's affections.

I cared for both of them, but had to persuade them for their own safety to stay with me at my cabin for nine months in order to escape the coming calamity that would surely befall the city.

It'd be a hard sell.



First of all, I had no idea how to orchestrate it. Should I invite the women to my house and put the idea to both of them and provide them with compelling reasons?

I already knew how Brooke reacted to Ben Church choosing me to interview Angelica. She was clearly jealous of her.

Well, how would she feel spending nine months out in the country navigating the shoals of sharing me with her―not that we were romantically involved... but what if that happened?

The whole situation was fraught, a veritable minefield, but one I had to navigate to try to save both women.



I decided on an open approach and contacted each and arranged a meeting at my house. I was up front with both of them and explained the other would be there and that it was a matter of extreme importance.

Surprisingly, both agreed to come. I was halfway there but the hardest part would be convincing them of the imminent danger.

But an unexpected event occurred that worked in my favour―the evening news declared that a plague had broken out caused by an unknown pathogen. An emergency quarantine was in effect throughout the city.



Just after seven that evening the three of us were seated in my front room in another blackout with a storm raging outside.

It was surreal, huddled like denizens of Plato's Cave, while the fire cast ominous shadows.

"These are dangerous times," Angelica was saying, "and I can sense evil and darkness all around us."

Brooke suddenly spoke up. "I can't believe I'm saying this, but I agree. I'm not particularly religious―more of an agnostic, I guess, but it seems like the end times described in the Bible. I wonder if the plagues mentioned in Revelations are going to unfold before our eyes."

"Let's not get too far ahead of ourselves," I cautioned. "All I know for certain is that there's going to be a prolonged blackout for at least nine months and cities will be almost uninhabitable. Add to that an outbreak of plague and it becomes a petrie dish of disease and contagion. Do you really want to stay and deal with that?"



The room went silent. For several minutes no one spoke and there were just the sounds of the fire crackling in the grate and thunder rolling across the sky above us.

"I'm a believer," Angelica whispered, " but I don't ascribe to the vision of the end times portrayed in Rapture films with everything happening according to a fixed timeline. I foresee a mystical uniting of all true believers and an and to this present darkness."

"Amen to that," Brooke smiled, lifting her coffee mug to toast Angelica's version of events. "I don't think things will happen in the cut and dried way a lot of people imagine. Bit I think in the end, light wins out over darkness."



""So, what do you say―are you willing to abandon the city and shelter at my cabin until this calamity subsides?"

Brooke shrugged her shoulders, "Sure, count me in―what choice do I have otherwise?"

I looked at Angelica who was staring into the flames, absorbed in her own musings. "So, how about you, Angelica―are you also willing to retreat to the cabin for nine months?"

She simply nodded. "We have no real choice, Zach and I'm thankful for your offer. It will be hard, but not as hard as staying in the city."



"Then we're agreed," I said solemnly. "Gather whatever clothes and personal care items you need and we'll leave together in two days."

Again, there was silence except for the low rumble of thunder off in the distance. "I think it best everyone stay here tonight and you can return to your homes in the morning and gather your things."

Both women nodded their agreement. It wasn't ideal, but it was a start.

I had no idea if this plan would even work out but the alternative was just too frightening. For the moment we had food and shelter and the support of each other―it was the best we could hope for while the world was coming apart around us.



To be continued…


© 2021, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency