Return ...Part 11 ...Next?



No one but Night, with tears on her dark face,
watches beside me in this windy place.

― Edna St. Vincent Millay




cri_000000151308.jpg
Light in Darkness



Night watches are worse with everyone else in bed.

I let Brooke stay over and sleep on the couch―I know, it was crazy and dangerous especially since I've been wounded before and knew this path could be treacherous.

But what else could I do? The power was still off and the storm outside raging. I wasn't going to send her home alone under these conditions.

And now here I was, sitting up alone tending the fireplace and checking storm watches on my cell phone. Yeah, it wasn't perfect but typical of me because I'd rather keep her safe here than send her home and spend the night worrying.



But the news bulletins on my cell concerned me―power grids in China, India and the Middle East were still down and now power outages were rolling across Russia and countries that made up the former Soviet Union.

What the hell was happening?

Thankfully, Brooke was fast asleep, no doubt worn out from fears brought on by her abusive upbringing. Religious fanaticism can scar a child for life. I think she'll always struggle in this area which makes the present solar event seem even more threatening.



All the uncertainty was too much for me. Last thing I remembered before drifting off to sleep was the wind rattling the windows and rain coming down in sheets.

I awoke to bright sunlight and the aroma of fresh coffee, my eyes still adjusting to the light when Brooke brought in a tray laden with bacon and eggs and mugs of steaming hot coffee.

"Good morning," she sang cheerily as she arranged the repast on the coffee table.

"I take it the power's back on," I smiled.

"It is," she nodded, "and I took full advantage of that to make us breakfast. I hope you don't mind."

"Mind?" I chuckled, "you can do this every morning as far as I'm concerned." Then, I realized what I said and coloured with embarrassment.

She saw my reaction and made light of it. "Just like a man wanting to be waited upon. But I'll leave you to do the dishes."

"Fair enough," I smiled ruefully.



"Have you seen any of the news reports this morning?" I asked while sipping my coffee.

"I have and they're not good―power outages have spread to Russia and parts of Europe."

"Do they have any idea of what's causing it?"

"That's the peculiar thing―it seems an anomaly. No one's really sure what's going on but so far we've been spared on this side of the world."



"And how are you doing this morning, Brooke?"

I know it was indelicate, but I never could keep from poking at a sore and I was concerned about her.

"I'm feeling better, Zach. I really appreciate you listening and letting me stay the night. I just hope it doesn't start people gossiping."

"Well, the only two people who know are us and I'm certainly not going to talk about it."

"Yeah well, Sue Ellen from work phoned me on my cell―she dropped by my condo twice last night to check on me. She was really worried, so I told her what happened, but swore her to secrecy."

"Sue Ellen?" I groaned, "she's not exactly discreet―we might as well put it out as a bulletin on the wire services."



Brooke's face fell. "I know, Zach―I just felt because she was so concerned I owed her an explanation. She thought you were gallant―a real gentleman, to not send me home alone under those conditions."

"That's me," I grinned, "famous for it."

"Okay, don't get carried away here, " she laughed, "I mean, considering our history."

"Touché," I sighed, "I know Sue Ellen's seen that side of me."

She touched my arm. "that's ancient history."



Brooke's gesture was meant to console me, but instead, her touch lit a conflagration of need and desire that sent a wave of heat coursing through me.

I realized in my earlier awkward remark I didn’t misspeak—I made a Freudian slip. I actually wanted to spend the rest of my life having breakfast with her...

And I didn't give a damn if that gave Sue Ellen something to talk about.



To be continued…


© 2021, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency